addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Sewing with Style Message Board › please help a lost beginner

please help a lost beginner

Angie
user 96741512
Austin, TX
Post #: 1
Hi everyone, I am a complete beginner to sewing (I just started last year!) but I am trying to make this bluedress. http://www.michelecar...­
I made a dressform of my exact body and outlined the design on the dressform and fit some muslin complete with darts. I transferred my markings to paper and am now making a mock up of the dress but I am having trouble with which pieces I should sew together first. It is bunching up in the seam between the front bodice and skirt. I am think I am in over my head. Maybe I didn't even make the right pattern pieces. Please help me with any advice if you can. I'm just worried about getting the pattern right and will worry about the decoration later. If anyone can offer suggestions that would help me so much and motivate me to keep at it!
Thanks so much.
Angie
http://www.michelecar...­
Malissa L.
mlssfshn
Haysville, KS
Post #: 80
With out seeing what you've actually cut it's hard to say if what you have is right or wrong. I do offer individual sewing help in your space, if you want to go that route. This is a very complicated piece to make, lots of hand work and sheer gathered down.
Karel R.
user 4752923
Austin, TX
Post #: 40