align-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcamerachatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-crosscrosseditfacebookglobegoogleimagesinstagramlocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartwitteryahoo

Bay Area Backcountry Buddies Message Board › 50 miler: Point Reyes to San Francisco

50 miler: Point Reyes to San Francisco

Richard
MrRedwood
San Francisco, CA
Post #: 43
I spoke with a number of folks at the Mission Bowling Club about a three-day, fifty-miler from Point Reyes down to San Francisco.

It did plot out fairly nicely, but I decided not to try it in the immediate future, since days are still pretty short and (almost) twenty-mile days on a route I've never done before is pushing things a bit. Later in the season, probably.

The routed is mapped out at Google Maps, here. (Annoyingly, Google split it up into two pages, which is very strange for a map. Look at the bottom of the list for the arrow to the next page.)

The first day, if starting at the Inverness Store (where the West Marin Stagecoach bus stops) is 18.1 miles to Glen Camp. (Wildcat Camp is also possible; it would be a little further, and add a small amount to the following day, but could swing past Alamere Falls).

The second day, from Glen Camp to Pantoll Campground on Mount Tamalpais, is 19.3 miles.

The third and final day is 15.5 miles, and ends at the south end of the Golden Gate Bridge. Obviously, that isn't the end of the day, so where people live, parked, etc., would change things.

Here are the stats, per GPSvisualizer.com:
Distance: 52.92 mi
Elevation gain: 14046 ft
Elevation loss: -13834 ft

The elevation profile:

The image is 1860x860; quite big enough to read the words and see the details; to see the full sized version, click through or go to http://goo.gl/ujzyqO...­