addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Toronto Ruby Brigade Message Board › The Beginner

The Beginner

Lee H.
user 14058624
Toronto, ON
Post #: 1
I'm a programmer. Did I just say I'm a 'programmer'? But I am! Sure, I don't have a formal CS education. Instead, I spent my school time learning Biology and Forensic Science. If someone breaks into your house and helps themselves to one of your beers, I'm the guy who tests the saliva on your Steam Whistle and looks for a DNA hit. But for the last several years, I've also been developing application in VB.net, which in someway or another help make our DNA lab work better. Then a few years ago I went on a blind date with OOP, and it's safe to say that we get along very VERY well (I love you OOP!!!). It was then that I decided to really get serious about programming. Since I didn't have a scripting language under my belt, and was interested in web applications, I started researching and decided to give RoR a try. I've set up a web application using scaffolding, and now I'm reading all the online material I can get my hands on to help with my development. But I must say, It hasn't all 'clicked' yet. I keep reading about people who just "get-it" and how the syntax matches how they 'think'. So I was wondering if there is anyone out there in Ruby land who might be interested in being my mentor? I realize that this is sort of the point of the Ruby Brigade, but from the size of the meetings (40) and the n