addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Vegans of the NC Triad Message Board › Any recipes/suggestions?

Any recipes/suggestions?

A former member
Post #: 2
Help! I am struggling to find much variety in my meal options. I'm still fairly new to the world of vegan/vegetarianism and I can't have soy. Seems like a lot of the vegan recipes I've found include tofu/soy. Any suggestions or recipes that people could provide with be greatly appreciated. I'm very hungry these days! tongue

Thanks!

Ivy
Heather N.
user 4621861
Portland, OR
Post #: 28
Seitan! Its wheat gluten and its wonderful. I don't know if you've tried it. There are a few different recipes. This is my fav:

The Recipe O' Greatness:
By Lachesis (http://www.postpunkki...­)

Ingredients:
1.5 cups vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cumin
1-2 tsp pepper (I use 2 tsp)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (you can use 1/8 tsp if you like it less spicy)
1/8 tsp allspice
2 tsp garlic powder

3/4 cups water
4 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp tamari
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp vegetarian Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 325°.

In a large mixing bowl mix dry ingredients. Mix the rest of the ingredients (liquid ingredients) in a smaller mixing bowl. Whisk well until mixed.

Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well, then knead for a minute or two.. it doesn't need long.