addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Moonrise Dance on Blackett's

Distance: 6.2 miles
Elevation Gain: 1,810 feet (and steep)

OK, you don't have to dance, but you can join me in watching the moonrise at 7:22 PM.

For those of you not familiar with Blackett's, this is a tough steep hike and you should only sign up if you are reasonably fit and/or have been hiking regularly.   If you are only doing the Friday Night Stroll, you are not ready for Blackett's.   Keep in mind that we will be hiking in the dark.  Be prepared.

We will enjoy the moon and the stars before heading down.

Recommended:

  • Flashlight (mandatory!!)
  • 2 liters of water
  • sun protection at the start of the hike
  • snacks
  • camera

Meet at the Sabino Canyon visitor's center ramada by 6:00 pm.  We will be leaving promptly.

HIKE AT YOUR OWN RISK

Join or login to comment.

  • George C.

    Wow! I don't even know what ephemerally means.

    March 30, 2013

  • LAWRENCE

    Thanks to Don, the Blackett's Dance Meister, a combination of Lawrence Welk and Kevin Costner. The hike, up and down Blackett's was dancelike, not to mention the moonlight magic at the top. Bands of black clouds floated across the moonface as the bright orange disk ephemerally hovered above the horizon. Looking forward to "Dances with Don" -- the sequel.

    March 30, 2013

  • Bob W.

    Thanks Don -- you "scheduled" that moonrise PERFECTLY !

    Great Hike and... Dance ;-) -- Bob

    March 28, 2013

  • George C.

    Night hikes are cool!

    March 27, 2013

  • George C.

    Another great hike. Doing this in the evening made it very interesting.

    1 · March 27, 2013

  • Tricia L.

    On my way but don't wait - I'll catch up :)

    March 27, 2013

  • Don B

    Please remember to bring a headlamp or flashlight for tonight. Also, remember that this is Blackett's. It's not a leisurely stroll in the park.

    1 · March 27, 2013

  • Bob W.

    Well, I'm not familiar with Riyadh and the Moon Rise @ that location but... I AM familiar with Tucson ;-)

    C'Ya ALL at the Sabino Ramada for the hike @ 6:00 PM.

    Bob

    March 27, 2013

  • Karen M.

    The exact time of the next full moon is:
    Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 10:27:18 am
    Central European Time (CET)
    Moon sign: Libra 06° 52'

    Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:

    SYDNEY = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 08:27:18 pm (AEDT)
    TOKYO = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 06:27:18 pm (JST)
    BEIJING = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 05:27:18 pm (CST)
    BANGKOK = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 04:27:18 pm (ICT)
    DELHI = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 02:57:18 pm (IST)
    MOSCOW = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 01:27:18 pm (MSK)
    RIYADH = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 12:27:18 pm (AST)
    BERLIN = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 10:27:18 am (CET)
    LONDON = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 09:27:18 am (GMT)
    RIO = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 06:27:18 am (BRT)
    NEW YORK = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 05:27:18 am (EDT)
    MEXICO CITY = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 03:27:18 am (CST)
    LOS ANGELES = Wednesday * 27th March 2013 * 02:27:18 am (PDT)

    March 25, 2013

10 went

Our Sponsors

  • LSJ Accounting

    10% off tax returns prepared by a CPA - rates starting at only $95!

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy