Hugo Award nominated short fiction + dinner

Hosted by Western MA Sci-Fi Meetup

Public group

This is a past event

5 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

For our August science fiction book discussion, we're going to read the short stories and novelettes that were nominated for the Hugo Awards this year.

Follow the links below to read the works online.

SHORT STORIES

"Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies" (http://uncannymagazine.com/article/talons-can-crush-galaxies/) Brooke Bolander (Uncanny Magazine 11/16). Audio version available from the same link.

"The City Born Great" (http://www.tor.com/2016/09/28/the-city-born-great/) N.K. Jemisin (Tor.com 9/16)

"That Game We Played During the War" (http://www.tor.com/2016/03/16/that-game-we-played-during-the-war/)Carrie Vaughn (Tor.com 3/16). Audio link (http://escapepod.org/2017/06/22/ep581-that-game-we-played-during-the-war/)

"A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers" (http://www.tor.com/2016/03/02/a-fist-of-permutations-in-lightning-and-wildflowers-alyssa-wong/) Alyssa Wong (Tor.com 3/16)

"Seasons of Glass and Iron" (http://uncannymagazine.com/article/seasons-glass-iron/) Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales)

NOVELETTES "The Art of Space Travel" (http://www.tor.com/2016/07/27/the-art-of-space-travel/) Nina Allan (Tor.com)

"The Tomato Thief" (https://www.apex-magazine.com/the-tomato-thief/) Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine)

"Touring with the Alien" (http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/gilman_04_16/) Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld Magazine). Audio version available from the same link.

"You'll Surely Drown Here If You Stay" (http://uncannymagazine.com/article/youll-surely-drown-stay/) Alyssa Wong (Uncanny Magazine)

NOTE: This list doesn't include the novelette "The Jewel and Her Lapidary" by Fran Wilde because it's not available for free. The list also doesn't include the short story "An Unimaginable Light" by John C. Wright or the novelette Alien Stripper Boned from Behind by the T-Rex by Stix Hiscock because I have no interest in reading them.

I didn't used to read much short fiction, but in recent years I've found I really enjoy reading some of the sci-fi short fiction that gets nominated for major awards, which is generally very diverse and high quality. Looking forward to discussing these stories with others!

------------------------------------------------------------------------

*There is a limit of 12 attendees for this event, to make sure everyone has a chance to participate in the discussion. Please RSVP before it fills up! And if you have RSVPd but something has come up, please update your RSVP so someone else will have a chance.

I'll consider adding a 2nd meeting on another day if there is enough interest/are enough people on the waitlist.*

If you have suggestions for future discussion group selections you can post them here on our message board (http://www.meetup.com/4scifi/messages/boards/thread/38262602), or just message me (http://www.meetup.com/4scifi/members/54187482/) directly.

Follow us on Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/4SciFi