Past Meetup

Hugo Award nominated short fiction + dinner

Hosted by Western MA Sci-Fi Meetup

Public group

This Meetup is past

8 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

For our August science fiction book discussion, we're going to read the short stories and novelettes that were nominated as finalists for the Hugo Awards this year.

Follow the links below to read the works online.

SHORT STORIES

"Carnival Nine" (http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/stories/carnival-nine/) by Caroline M. Yoachim (Beneath Ceaseless Skies, May 2017). Audio version available from the same link.

"Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand" (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/clearly-lettered-mostly-steady-hand/) by Fran Wilde (Uncanny Magazine, Sep/Oct 2017). Audio version available from the same link.

"Fandom for Robots” (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/fandom-for-robots/) by Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Uncanny, Sep/Oct 2017). Audio version: http://escapepod.org/2018/04/19/escape-pod-624-fandom-for-robots/

"The Martian Obelisk" (https://www.tor.com/2017/07/19/the-martian-obelisk/) by Linda Nagata (Tor.com, 19 Jul 2017)

"Sun, Moon, Dust" (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/sun-moon-dust/) by Ursula Vernon (Uncanny Magazine, May/Jun 2017). Audio version available from the same link.

“Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™ (https://www.apex-magazine.com/welcome-to-your-authentic-indian-experience/) by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex Magazine, Aug 2017). Audio link (read by Levar Burton!): http://www.levarburtonpodcast.com

NOVELETTES
"Children of Thorns, Children of Water" (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/children-thorns-children-water/) by Aliette de Bodard (Uncanny Magazine, Jul/Aug 2017)

"Extracurricular Activities" (https://www.tor.com/2017/02/15/extracurricular-activities/) by Yoon Ha Lee (Tor.com, 15 Feb 2017)

"Secret Life of Bots" (http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/palmer_09_17/) by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, Sep 2017). Audio version available from the same link.

"A Series of Steaks" (http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/prasad_01_17/) by Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld, Jan 2017). Audio version available from the same link.

"Small Changes Over Long Periods of Time" (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/small-changes-long-periods-time/) by K.M. Szpara (Uncanny Magazine, May/Jun 2017)

"Wind Will Rove" (pdf) (http://sarahpinsker.com/wind_will_rove/) by Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s, Sep/Oct 2017)

I didn't used to read much short fiction, but in recent years I've found I really enjoy reading some of the sff short fiction that gets nominated for major awards, which is generally very diverse and high quality. Looking forward to discussing these stories with others!

------------------------------------------------------------------------

*There is a limit of 12 attendees for this event, to make sure everyone has a chance to participate in the discussion. Please RSVP before it fills up! And if you have RSVPd but something has come up, please update your RSVP so someone else will have a chance.

I'll consider adding a 2nd meeting on another day if there is enough interest/are enough people on the waitlist.*

If you have suggestions for future discussion group selections you can post them here on our message board (http://www.meetup.com/4scifi/messages/boards/thread/38262602), or just message me (http://www.meetup.com/4scifi/members/54187482/) directly.

Follow us on Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/4SciFi