Past Meetup

Cloud Atlas: Movie Tie-in Book Discussion

This Meetup is past

6 people went

Location visible to members

Details

Film often takes from other material be it novels, plays, operas, comics, etc.

I thought it would be fun to read and discuss a novel that a recent film was based on.

I am a huge reader so I thought I'd give a meetup like this a try.

One of the most moving and exciting novels I have read in recent years is Cloud Atlas (2004) by David Mitchell, an inventive and complex writer.

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

In 2012, the Wachowski siblings adapted this novel to the big screen.

Cloud Atlas is a mega-project, a star-studded near-three-hour opus that reaches for deep metaphysical meaning. And instead of one story, the movie adapted from David Mitchell's novel features six interlocking narratives, ranging from a 19th-century seafaring yarn to a pair of futuristic dystopias

Discussion

I will be Samuel Beckett's Irish Pub (http://www.samuelbecketts.com) in Shirlington at 7:00PM.

The perfect place to get a pint and discuss books and film.

Where to get the Book

Copies of the novel can be obtained at local bookstores. I recommend Barnes & Noble (http://store-locator.barnesandnoble.com/store/2867) or The Book Bank (http://www.bookbank1.com).

It can also be purchased from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Cloud-Atlas-Novel-David-Mitchell/dp/0375507256/ref=tmm_pap_title_1) (new or used)

In addition, Amazon does have a Kindle (http://www.amazon.com/Cloud-Atlas-Enhanced-Edition-ebook/dp/B009GI8J1O/ref=tmm_kin_title_0) Edition and Barnes & Noble has a Nook (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cloud-atlas-david-mitchell/1100618857?ean=9780307483041&itm=1&usri=cloud+atlas) Edition.

Where to see the Film

The film is available for purchase on DVD/Blu-Ray.

Streaming Information: The film is available for digital rental and purchase at Amazon and iTunes.

So come and join me in discussing this fascinating novel and the adaptation it inspired.