addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Arizona WordPress Group Message Board › Blank Theme Development

Blank Theme Development

Robert R.
labphx
Phoenix, AZ
Post #: 1
Hey All,
I'm fairly new to this group and would first like to say hi, and ask for some input.

I am a designer/WP developer that specializes in custom Wordpress themes for small and medium size businesses. I have always used either my own custom "blank theme" or Bones as a starting point. Recently a friend and I have started putting together our own responsive blank theme with features and practices we find useful in starting a typical project such as 1140 Grid, Less, Normalizer, Modernizr & responsive Media Queries to mention a few. All will be minimally styled so as to speed up the customization of template elements and CSS.

What I wanted to ask the group is if you build custom WP templates what functions would you like to see in a responsive blank theme, or a blank theme in general that you would find useful? I'm toying with building in a basic slider function based on Nivo, a simple gallery function, or other things along those lines. The idea is that, not all but a lot of clients ask for these functions and if I could have them pre-built but un-styled it would save me a ton of time in development. Of course not everything could be re-used but if even a third of it could it could save a lot of time.