What we're about

Love to read? Want to learn more about writing? We bring authors -- local and national - to our bookstore to talk about their books, do a reading, answer questions about writing and publishing, and to have fun!

Upcoming events (5)

529 College Savings Plans for Grandparents

Eagle Harbor Book Co

Calling all Grandparents! Jeffrey Pritchard will be at the bookstore on Thursday, March 21st at 7pm to share some of the tips outlined in his new book, 529 College Savings Plans for Grandparents. This[masked] edition includes new information about using 529 plans to pay for K-12 tuition, a chapter on 529 ABLE plans for students with disabilities, and unique strategies for families to create multi-generational educational legacies.

Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe with Evan James

Eagle Harbor Book Co

We are thrilled to welcome native Bainbridge Islander Evan James to Eagle Harbor Book Co. on Thursday, April 4 at 7pm as he discusses his new novel, Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe. The novel is set during a single summer on Bainbridge Island. The island features heavily in the book, almost as a character itself. The inimitable—some might say incorrigible—Frank Widdicombe is suffering from a deep depression. Or so his wife, Carol, believes. But Carol is convinced that their new island home— Willowbrook Manor on the Puget Sound—is just the thing to cheer her husband up. And so begins a whirlwind summer as their house becomes the epicenter of multiple social dramas involving the family, their friends, and a host of new acquaintances. Written in a singularly witty and satirical style, Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Andrew Sean Greer’s Less, and Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins. Author Bio: Evan James is an award-winning writer whose personal essays and fiction have appeared in such publications as the Oxford American,Travel + Leisure, and The New York Times, among others. Born in Seattle, he now lives in New York and teaches creative writing and English at Pierrepont School in Westport, Connecticut.

Growing Berries and Fruit Trees, w/ Tara Weaver

Eagle Harbor Book Co

Gardening season is just around the corner! Join master gardener and cookbook author Tara Weaver at the bookstore on Thursday, April 11th as she offers tips and tricks from her new book, Growing Berries and Fruit Trees in the Pacific Northwest: How to Grow Abundant, Organic Fruit in Your Backyard. https://www.eagleharborbooks.com/event/growing-berries-and-fruit-trees-pacific-nw-tara-weaver

Book Launch: Setting the Wire, with Sarah Townsend and Claire Dederer

Celebrate the launch of Sarah Townsend's new book, Setting the Wire, along with co-presenter Claire Dederer on Thursday, April 18 at 7pm. Setting the Wire is a memoir of postpartum psychosis and a meditation on containment: what we hold and what holds us together. A lyric exploration of motherhood, mental illness, and familial ties, Sarah Townsend weaves together personal anecdote, film, music, visual art, and psychology. Setting the Wire is a visceral reflection on the experience of fragmentation as a young psychotherapist and new mother. Author Bio: Sarah Townsend’s essays have appeared in The Writer in the World and Pitkin Review. A coauthored paper with Elisabeth Young-Bruehl serves as a chapter in Subject to Biography: Psychoanalysis, Feminism and Writing Women’s Lives. She writes, teaches, and practices psychotherapy in and around Seattle, WA. You can learn more about her at SarahCTownsend. com.

Past events (13)

The Sound and the Glory with Matt Pentz

Eagle Harbor Book Co

Photos (41)