Next Meetup

Caulfield Park - 1.5 km - Wednesday morning - 10 AM ☕
The eastern half of Caulfield Park is a popular off-lead dog exercise area. This walk is not a long one, it would suit smaller dogs. Larger dogs can come of course & do laps of the six ovals. Car parking is available in the park via the entrance off Balaclava Rd (Melway 59 B12). We'll meet at 10am near the south end of the pavilion (near the blue dot in pic below). Bring poo bags as sometimes the park's bag stations are empty. There are bins located around the park. A circuit of the off-lead areas covers ~ 1.5 km - that's for 2-legged alpha dogs. Four paws' distance could be twice that. This could be increased by 50% as there are a lot of trees which may need closer inspection. With our furry friends on their leads we can walk all over the park! Coffee and cake is available nearby for apres walk ☕ Did someone say"Caulfield Park?"

Caulfield Park

via Balaclava rd · Melbourne

Respond by: 12/11/2018

What we're about

Barking Mad is about bringing dogs and their owners together to foster an environment for people to meet and for dogs to play. We'll be hosting events ranging from visiting dog parks & beaches to enjoying coffee and brunch at some of Melbourne's dog friendly cafes ☕ Some of the walks will take us to less visited venues where our dogs can run free.

Whether your furry friend is a Jack Russell, Nova Scotia Duck-tolling Retriever, Lhasa Apso or a splendid mixture of all of those you & they will be welcome to come along to meet & mingle & get plenty of exercise that's good for us too.

Feel free to make suggestions on walks, dog-rescue fundraisers, social activities etc. If you know of dog-friendly cafes & hotels then please let me know.

People are most welcome to join and come along if they don't have a dog, but enjoy canine company. There are always plenty of eager wagging tails lining up for an extra pat!

To give everyone a great Meetup experience, remember the golden rule of Meetup:

"Always update your RSVP to tell us if you're NOT coming"

If you do RSVP to an event then I do expect you to attend. If you can’t make it then please try to update your RSVP status as early as possible and certainly prior to the deadline.

EVENT HOSTS / IDEAS WANTED!

Got an idea? Click on "Suggest a Meetup" to start organising your event. The Organiser will approve the event and make you the event host. If you want to organise events regularly then you can become an event organiser. Just send a message to the Organiser to register your interest.

If you do host an event, it's suggested you follow this list of tips for a smooth event:

• Always provide sufficient details so that people know what to expect. Think about what you would want to know if you were in their shoes.

• If you have to back out of hosting an event then try to find someone to replace you.

• Avoid putting yourself in a situation where you might be out of pocket (e.g. making up front payments or committing to payments).

• If you’re cancelling or postponing then give as much notice as possible. You’ll be surprised how many members may have planned their diary around your event.

• If you must cancel an event then do not remove the event. Instead mark the event title as struck through or put the word “CANCELLED” next to it.

• Barking Mad is a social, non-profit group. I don’t condone the use of Barking Mad for business promotion, self-promotion or commercial gain except for the incidental use of services in the hosting of the events or the advertising of a charity function clearly identified as such.

• Our events are run by volunteers, who each run it in their own way. If you have questions, please ask them. They will be happy to help.

Regards Nige 🌟

==================================================================================================

Nothing to see here . . . move along . . .

Dog Rescue (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dogrescue/) · Dog Obedience Training and Problem Solving (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-obedience-training-and-problem-solving/) · · Dog Adventures (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-adventures/) · Dog Playgroups (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-play-groups/) · Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dogs/) · Dog Friendly Events (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-friendly-events/) · Map and compass (http://www.meetup.com/topics/map-and-compass/) · Wilderness Navigation (http://www.meetup.com/topics/wilderness-navigation/) · Geospatial (http://www.meetup.com/topics/geospatial/) · Maps (http://www.meetup.com/topics/maps/) · Living Off The Grid (http://www.meetup.com/topics/living-off-the-grid/) · Nature Walks (http://www.meetup.com/topics/nature-walks/) · Sustainability & Sustainable Community Building (http://www.meetup.com/topics/sustainability-sustainable-community-building/) · Socialization For Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/socialization-for-dogs/) · Positive Dog Training (http://www.meetup.com/topics/positive-dog-training/) · Primitive Skills (http://www.meetup.com/topics/primitive-skills/) · Wilderness Survival (http://www.meetup.com/topics/wilderness-survival/) · Service Dog (http://www.meetup.com/topics/servicedog/) · Dog Obedience and Behavioral Training (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-obedience-and-behavioral-training/) · Search and Rescue (http://www.meetup.com/topics/rescue/) · Ground SAR (http://www.meetup.com/topics/ground-sar/) · Outdoor Fitness (http://www.meetup.com/topics/outdoor-fitness/) · Herding Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/herding-dogs/) · Collies and the people who love them (http://www.meetup.com/topics/collies-and-the-people-who-love-them/) · Massage Therapy (http://www.meetup.com/topics/massage/) · Canine Search and Rescue (http://www.meetup.com/topics/canine-search-and-rescue/) · Border Collies (http://www.meetup.com/topics/border-collies/) · Dog Training (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dogtraining/) · Dog Obedience Training (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-obedience-training/) · Dog Scent Tracking (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-scent-tracking/) · · Australian Cattle Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/australian-cattle-dogs/) · Tramping (http://www.meetup.com/topics/tramping/) · Jack Russell Terrier (http://www.meetup.com/topics/jackrussell/) · Flyball Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/flyball-dogs/) · Mapping (http://www.meetup.com/topics/mapping/) · Border Collie (http://www.meetup.com/topics/border/) · Lets Go Hiking with our Border Collies (http://www.meetup.com/topics/lets-go-hiking-with-our-border-collies/) · Outdoor Adventures (http://www.meetup.com/topics/outdoor-adventures/) · Hiking (http://www.meetup.com/topics/hiking/) · Dog Walks (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dog-walks/) · Off-Leash Dog Recreation (http://www.meetup.com/topics/offleash/) · Small Breed Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/smallbreeddogs/) · Active Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/activedogs/) Large Breed Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/large-breed-dogs/) · Dogs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/dogs/) · French Bulldog (http://www.meetup.com/topics/frenchbulldog/) · English Mastiffs (http://www.meetup.com/topics/english-mastiffs/) · Bordeaux Mastiff (http://www.meetup.com/topics/bordeaux-mastiff/) · Dog Agility (http://www.meetup.com/topics/agility/) · · Biltong & Droewors (https://www.meetup.com/topics/biltong-droewors/) · Labrador, Border Collie, German Shepherd, Queensland Heeler, Australian Cattle Dog, French Bulldog, Australian Bulldog, Great Dane, Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever, Bouvier des Ardennes, Irish Terrier, Manchester Terrier, Smooth Collie, Rough Collie (ruff ruff!), West Highland White Terrier, Mexican Hairless, Russian Terrier, Kelpie, Dachshund, Poodle, Toy Minature Standard Giant, Spaniel, Wheaten Terrier, Newfoundland, Landseer, Harlequin, Parti poodle, Search & Tracking, Munster Retriever, Springer Spaniel, Brittany Spaniel, Clumber Spaniel, Bernese Mountain Dog, Cairn Terrier, left pawed, Havanese, Dalamatian, English Pointer, Water Rescue Dogs, Molosser, St. John's water dog, Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Flat-Coated Retriever, Curly-coated Retriever, Australian Terrier, Briard, Vizsla, Pug, Cocker Spaniel, Foxhound, Irish Setter, Samoyed, right pawed, Dingo, Poodle, scent trailing, companion dog, community companion dog, companion dog excellent, utility dog, utility dog excellent, tracking dog, agility dog, basic 1, basic 2, rallyo, Dachshund, Welsh Corgi, Pembrokeshire, Cardigan Corgi, Pomeranian, Marema, panther, behaviour, assistance dog, guide dog, Rottweiler, associate dog, Australian Stumpy Tail Cattle Dog, European Spitz, Asian Spitz, Bouvier des Flandres, Smooth-haired, Long-haired, Wire-haired, English Toy Spaniel, Flushing Dogs, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Continental Pointing Dogs, Ciobănesc Românesc Corb, Ciobănesc Românesc de Bucovina, Xoloitzcuintli, kennel club, Fédération Cynologique Internationale, Roughhaired Sighthound, Italian Greyhound, Whippet, Saluki, Irish Wolfhound, Scottish Deerhound, Shetland Sheepdog, Sheltie, Bearded Collie, Dandie Dinmont, Spinal disc herniation, St. Bernard, Skye Terrier, Sloughi, Groenendael, Laekenois, Malinois, Mechelse Schepe, Mechelaar, Chien de Berger Belge, Tervuren, Bergamasco Shepherd, Swiss Mountain dog, Bernese Mountain Dog, Appenzeller Sennenhund, Entlebucher Mountain Dog, Greenland Husky, Grønlandshunden, Alaskan Malamute, lapphund, Japanese spitz, designer dog, Cavoodle, Labradoodle, walled eyed, mongrel, Alsation, cadaver dog, search and rescue, canine SAR, K9, nose work, Birch, Anise, Clove, Catahoulas, track and search, blind dog, Chinese Crested, assistance dog, seeing eye dog, deaf dog, Chester, Self-Empowerment, Pharaoh Hound, Ibizan Hound, Norwegian Elkhound, Shiba Inu, Shar Pei, Caulfield Growling Terrier, New Guinea Singing Dog, Canaan dog, Chow Chow, Akita, Basenji, Ente Nazionale della Cinofilia Italiana, Pyrenean Mountain Dog, Pyrenean Mastiff, Kuvasz, Tatra Sheepdog, Slovak Cuvac, Šarplaninac, Turkish Akbash, kennel cough, heart worm, mange, fleas, diet, walking, hiking, trekking, bushwalking, marathon, go the extra mile, Abyssinian Tripe hound, Swiss Shepherd, Murray Curly-coated Retriever, Parson Terrier, Chihuahua, Tibetan spaniel, Berger Blanc Suisse, Groodle, Pugalier, Weisser Schweizer Schäferhund, Pastore Svizzero Bianco, Bedlington terrier, Brussels Griffon, Smithfield, Lhasa Apso, Löwchen, Little Lion Dog, Petit Chien Lion, Portuguese Water Dog,

Members (726)

Photos (120)