addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Book Discussion for "Cloud Atlas" by David Mitchell

*NOTE* - The place may change if I find some place new. Stay posted!

 

Let's find out what all the hype is about - is the book version of Cloud Atlas better than the movie? [I'm told the answer is a resounding yes; I'm not going to see the movie, but perhaps some of you will!] Please bring questions, thoughts, comments - no formal presentations are necessary, but do expect to engage in some active listening and conversation. As always, dissenting opinions and thoughts are welcome, but I do expect participants to be respectful of each other as they express them.

 

Here's a short summary of the book:

"A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history."

 

Now let's get to readin'!

 

Suggested Donation: $2/attendee

As stated in my profile, I'm a broke-ass grad student, and Meetup groups cost money to run (surprise!), so... if you can contribute a buck or two, please do! This increases the likelihood that I can continue this group despite my rotten budget. If you can't, don't sweat it! It wouldn't really be fair to exclude other broke-asses. If there are extra funds from donations over the year (i.e., if the amount collected exceeds the cost of the Meetup, which is $144/year), then I will use the remaining funds for something fun for the group, like drinks/snacks for a holiday get together at the year's end.

A little note on RSVPs:

If you have to cancel (life happens sometimes), please do so at least 24 hours in advance. That way space can be freed up for others who may wish to attend, but for whom there wasn't enough room. If you RSVP "yes" and don't show up 3 times (yes, I will be counting!), you will be excluded from future attendance. This is only fair for others who want to attend the meetings.

Join or login to comment.

  • Mirgul

    friendly atmosphere, very interesting discussion. hope to be back for more!

    1 · March 13, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    This is the first time I've been to a book discussion meetup. It was a meaningful, intelligent, and enjoyable discussion. Thanks for organizing, Valerie! ^^

    3 · March 10, 2013

    • Valerie F.

      Thanks for coming Spencer! I hope you'll come to one of the next ones too!

      March 11, 2013

  • Brett H.

    Sorry, something just came up and I will not be able to make it.

    March 9, 2013

  • KC

    I was bummed that I missed the movie; now I have a chance to redeem myself and prove Scott Fitzgerald wrong that there is no 2nd act in American lives

    March 9, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Sorry I won't make it this time. Haven't read the book yet! It's going on the list.

    March 9, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Cannot make it...

    March 9, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    I will be unable to attend.

    March 8, 2013

  • Liz

    I'm in! Will see you on Sunday. Looking forward to it!

    1 · March 8, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Sorry, won't be able to make it.

    March 7, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    I finished the book and DYING to discuss so many points but I can't make it anymore! :-((((

    March 6, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Sad, very sad.

    March 6, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    I am not going to finish the book--so someone can have my spot

    March 5, 2013

  • Livia E.

    I'd be interested in a spillover discussion. Thanks!

    March 4, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    If you are going to have another group, it will be wonderful. I am always working on Sundays, I respond to your group, hoping you would have not her Wednesday group.

    February 23, 2013

    • Valerie F.

      Hi Sook, I would love to, but I'm not sure Cher will be available, so it's going to depend on her! Keep an eye out in events, since I can't say at this point that we will have an alternate event this time around.

      February 25, 2013

  • Liz

    Would love to join this one, Val! Will you email if spots open up? Will refresh my reading of Cloud Atlas in anticipation...

    February 24, 2013

    • Valerie F.

      Hi Liz, I don't email when spots open up because if you're on the waiting list, you'll automatically be bumped up the list to an RSVP of "yes" if other people change their RSVPs. Be sure to check the attendance list the day of the event to see if you can come along. And in general - come along! There are often folks who don't show.

      1 · February 25, 2013

  • Brett H.

    Would you mind if I came over just to hang out?

    February 14, 2013

    • Valerie F.

      Hi Brett, just keep an eye out on the RSVP list - a lot of folks tend to cancel their RSVPs a few days before the events, so there's likely to be plenty of space!

      February 21, 2013

8 went

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy