Slideshow / Q&A: How to hike & camp the US / Canadian Rockies for 6 weeks

This is a past event

17 people went

Boulder Public Library - Main Library

1001 Arapahoe Ave · Boulder, CO

How to find us

Park on the Arapahoe St. side of the library. Go into the library and walk straight back to the stairs or elevator, up to the 2nd floor. You'll find us in the Flatirons room.

Location image of event venue

Details

Ever wondered what it would be like to take a month (or more) off to go camping and hiking? Are you longing to visit the US & Canadian Rockies, but you're not sure where to go to get away from it all?

You may be wondering, how can you afford this, what about traveling alone, encountering bears, or neighbors with guns? Beth's experienced all of this and more, and she'd love to share what she's learned.

This session will be right after Beth returns from her latest adventure! She'll even bring photos of the car packed with all her equipment, so we can get into the nuts and bolts of what to bring on your trip, and how to stay organized. Beth's experience is based on car camping, and the occasional hut trip, not backpacking.

Feel free to message Beth with questions ahead of time, though she may take time to get back to you while traveling.

We'll meet in the Flatirons Room, on the 2nd floor of the Main Library. If you come up the main staircase, on the Arapahoe side, the room is behind (north of) the computer area. Parking is free for the first 90 minutes, and free after 7pm, so no need to pay.

About Beth: For the last 3 years, Beth has summered in Canada, camping most of the time, and hiking. She's visited both well-known and little-known destinations. Her first month-long trip was in 2004, and included being tracked by a bear, getting rescued in Canada, and a flat tire that campers helped her with after the insurance company couldn't find her on their map. Since then she's met travelers from around the world, taken hundreds of photos, and gotten to know a little about some bear families. She hopes to go visit a fellow traveler in New Zealand one day.