What we're about

A book club to scratch that sweet spot inside of your head. Reading books that will gnaw their way into your brain and then eat it from the inside out. Books that aren't afraid to imagine radical new possibilities for both you and the rest of the world. Books that question themselves and everything else. Books that make strange noises and funny little beeps. Books that refuse to offer easy answers and instead invite you to... go a little bit deeper.

Conversations that get beneath the surface and beyond the superficial to examine the various beautiful and mysterious ways that books can challenge and shape our perspectives and ideologies in ways that enrich and inspire us further. Making us into better humans or maybe even something better than human?

For fans of: Ursula K. Le Guin, Stanisław Lem, Slavoj Žižek, Philip K Dick, Jorge Luis Borges, Octavia E Butler, Jeff VanderMeer, Haruki Murakami, Brian Catling, Kurt Vonnegut, Ann Leckie, China Miéville, M. John Harrison, Mark Fisher, Iain M. Banks, J. G. Ballard and many many more.

Upcoming events (4)

Brain Worms 053 / Foundation by Isaac Asimov

Needs a location

"Foundation is Isaac Asimov’s iconic masterpiece. Unfolding against the backdrop of a crumbling Galactic Empire, the story of Hari Seldon’s is a lasting testament to an extraordinary imagination, one that shaped science fiction as we know it today. The Galactic Empire has prospered for twelve thousand years. Nobody suspects that the heart of the thriving Empire is rotten, until psychohistorian Hari Seldon uses his new science to foresee its terrible fate. Exiled to the desolate planet Terminus, Seldon establishes a colony of the greatest minds in the Empire, a Foundation which holds the key to changing the fate of the galaxy. However, the death throes of the Empire breed hostile new enemies, and the young Foundation’s fate will be threatened first."

Available from all good libraries and book shops.
You don't have to have read it to join us - but it'll probably help.

We will be meeting in the Function Room upstairs in the Star of the East. It is a 3 minute walk from Westferry DLR station. It has a wide selection of food and drinks: https://thestaroftheeast.co.uk/

We hope to see you there.

...

To join the Brain Worms WhatsApp Group please click here: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FnR82DHS6NcEBG0JSBptFm

Meetup charges subscription fees. If you would like to make a donation please click here: https://paypal.me/philosophycollective

Brain Worms 054 / Hard-Boiled Wonderland & the End of the World Haruki Murakami

"A narrative particle accelerator that zooms between Wild Turkey Whiskey and Bob Dylan, unicorn skulls and voracious librarians, John Coltrane and Lord Jim. Science fiction, detective story and post-modern manifesto all rolled into one rip-roaring novel, Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World is the tour de force that expanded Haruki Murakami's international following. Tracking one man's descent into the Kafkaesque underworld of contemporary Tokyo, Murakami unites East and West, tragedy and farce, compassion and detachment, slang and philosophy."

Available from all good libraries and book shops.
You don't have to have read it to join us - but it'll probably help.

We will be meeting in the Function Room upstairs in the Star of the East. It is a 3 minute walk from Westferry DLR station. It has a wide selection of food and drinks: https://thestaroftheeast.co.uk/

We hope to see you there.

...

To join the Brain Worms WhatsApp Group please click here: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FnR82DHS6NcEBG0JSBptFm

Meetup charges subscription fees. If you would like to make a donation please click here: https://paypal.me/philosophycollective

Brain Worms 055 / Amatka by Karin Tidbeck

Needs a location

"A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing--not even language, nor the very fabric of reality--can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice."

Available from all good libraries and book shops.
You don't have to have read it to join us - but it'll probably help.

We will be meeting in the Function Room upstairs in the Star of the East. It is a 3 minute walk from Westferry DLR station. It has a wide selection of food and drinks: https://thestaroftheeast.co.uk/

We hope to see you there.

...

To join the Brain Worms WhatsApp Group please click here: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FnR82DHS6NcEBG0JSBptFm

Meetup charges subscription fees. If you would like to make a donation please click here: https://paypal.me/philosophycollective

Brain Worms 056 / There Is No Antimemetics Division by qntm

Needs a location

"An antimeme is an idea with self-censoring properties; an idea which, by its intrinsic nature, discourages or prevents people from spreading it. Antimemes are real. Think of any piece of information which you wouldn't share with anybody, like passwords, taboos and dirty secrets. Or any piece of information which would be difficult to share even if you tried: complex equations, very boring passages of text, large blocks of random numbers, and dreams... But anomalous antimemes are another matter entirely. How do you contain something you can't record or remember? How do you fight a war against an enemy with effortless, perfect camouflage, when you can never even know that you're at war? Welcome to the Antimemetics Division. No, this is not your first day."

Available from all good libraries and book shops.
You don't have to have read it to join us - but it'll probably help.

We will be meeting in the Function Room upstairs in the Star of the East. It is a 3 minute walk from Westferry DLR station. It has a wide selection of food and drinks: https://thestaroftheeast.co.uk/

We hope to see you there.

...

To join the Brain Worms WhatsApp Group please click here: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FnR82DHS6NcEBG0JSBptFm

Meetup charges subscription fees. If you would like to make a donation please click here: https://paypal.me/philosophycollective

Past events (72)

Brain Worms 052 / Severance by Ling Ma

Needs a location

Photos (97)