addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

cometdog74

Location:

Columbus, OH

Member since:

May 1, 2014

What is your ideal living situation in regards to self-sufficiency/sustainability?

Ideally, I'd like to be in a situation where I could could live completely in accordance with my values. To me, this means not having to spend my money on things that I oppose. Growing my own healthy food instead of having to worry about what my family is eating, or producing my own clean, safe power instead of paying the utility companies to destroy the planet would be a few examples of this.

What are your main areas of interest?

I have several areas of interest, but solar power and gardening would be near the top of the list.

What, if any, are your areas of expertise that you could help others learn?

I don't really have any areas of expertise that would be compatible with this group. I know how to make soap, but other than that, I've spent the last 20 years in the retail industry. I'm happy to be away from that environment although there were some aspects of it that were positive.

What is your main reason for joining this group?

I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the information out there, and I'd like to be more proactive in meeting some of my goals. I think spending time learning from actual people will inspire me to make some changes.

Introduction

I'm a former small business owner in search of my muse. My dream is to build my own off-grid home and enjoy my life rather than survive it. I'm a writer and a mom to kids and dogs.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy