addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Matt S.


Marysville, OH
Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Member since:

November 10, 2012

What is your ideal living situation in regards to self-sufficiency/sustainability?

Ideally I would like to be living on a well-managed homestead that provides the majority of physical needs for me and mine. This includes food, energy, shelter, and enough surplus to participate in the local economy.

What are your main areas of interest?

I am deeply interested in subsistence gardening, organic, permaculture and biodynamic practices, food forests, artisan skills, small-scale livestock, food preservation and storage, heirloom and open-pollinated seed saving, community connection and resilience, local economics, appropriate technology, alternative energy, and any other useful pockets of knowledge. Specialization is for insects.

What, if any, are your areas of expertise that you could help others learn?

I still have much to learn, but I've gained a fair amount of knowledge over the past few years on the above topics.

What is your main reason for joining this group?

I started this group in the hopes of meeting others who share my interests and passion, that we might learn more together and benefit from knowing one another.


My name is Matt. I'm a 30 y.o. creative professional by day and aspiring homesteader on 8 acres in beautiful rural central Ohio. I live with my awesome girlfriend, our dog Heidi and out cat Watson.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy