• #LegalTech & Innovation Talks - February 28 at Skadden - ABA TechShow Week

    Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

    Join us at Skadden during ABA Techshow Week. We will begin at 5:00 p.m. with networking and kick off the program at 5:30 p.m. • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program • Innovation in Legal News - Bob Ambrogi (https://www.linkedin.com/in/robertambrogi/) (@bobambrogi), LexBlog, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief; Technology Professional; Journalist • Algorithm Aversion and Automation Bias - Maura Grossman (https://www.linkedin.com/in/maura-r-grossman-0584145/), University of Waterloo, Research Professor, Director of Women in Computer Science • Lawyering UP: Embracing Tech Opportunities to Improve Practice - Ivy Grey (https://www.linkedin.com/in/ivybgrey/) (@IvyBGrey), WordRake, Director of Business Strategy; PerfectIt • Envisioning the Future of Artificial Intelligence and Law - Kristian Hammond (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kristianhammond/) (@KJ_Hammond), Northwestern University, Professor of Computer Science; Narrative Science, Chief Scientist • Co-Developing Access to Justice Tech - Kristen Sonday (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kristensonday/) (@kristensonday), Co-founder, Paladin • I Lawyer, Therefore I Am: Finding Your Identity in an Automated World - Ben Jackson (https://www.linkedin.com/in/benjamin-jackson-64397147/) (@pbdcitizen), Student, Chicago-Kent College of Law • Hands-On Legal Innovation: Artificial Intelligence and Legal Reasoning at Northwestern Law - Andrea Leon Garcia (https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrea-leon-garcia-30457312a/), Julio Rueda Rivas (https://www.linkedin.com/in/julio-r-7614bb60/), Brian Trujillo (https://www.linkedin.com/in/briantrujillo/), Weihua (Melody) Yao (https://www.linkedin.com/in/weihua-yao-melody-261580161/), Students, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law You must register in advance. Please update your meetup profile to include your first and last name so that we can add you to the security list. *** When you arrive at Skadden, check in with security, mentioning that you are here for the Legal Innovation Meetup. The event is on the 28th floor at Skadden. ***

    1
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

    Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

    We will begin at 5:30pm with networking and kick off the program at 6:00 p.m. The event will take place in 140 Rubloff Building. From the main entrance at 375 E. Chicago Ave., look for the signs directing you to 140 Rubloff Building. • Kicking off the program: Dan Linna, Visiting Professor of Law, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna Twitter: @DanLinna https://twitter.com/DanLinna • Harnessing Legal Innovation Means Increased Inclusion Jayne Reardon, Executive Director, Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism Bio: https://www.2civility.org/people/jayne-reardon/ Twitter: @2civility https://twitter.com/2civility • Technology is Constantly Evolving: Are you? Donald Moon, Sr. Associate, Technology Transactions, Mayer Brown Bio: https://www.mayerbrown.com/people/donald-j-moon/ • The Delta Model for Lawyer Competency Alyson Carrel, Assistant Dean of Law and Technology, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Bio: http://www.law.northwestern.edu/faculty/profiles/AlysonCarrel/ Twitter: @alysoncarrel https://twitter.com/alysoncarrel • Innovation Imperative: How Big Law Must Continue to Adapt to Compete in the New Normal Jae Um, Founder & Executive Director, Six Parsecs Bio: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jaesunum/ Twitter: @jaesunum https://twitter.com/jaesunum • Predicting Supreme Court Cases with Oral Argument Data Analytics Tonja Jacobi, Professor of Law, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Bio: http://www.law.northwestern.edu/faculty/profiles/TonjaJacobi/ Twitter: @tonjajacobi https://twitter.com/tonjajacobi and Matthew Sag, Professor of Law, Loyola University of Chicago School Bio: https://www.luc.edu/law/faculty/facultyandadministrationprofiles/sag-matthew.shtml Twitter: @matthewsag https://twitter.com/matthewsag Thank you to our host, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law (http://www.law.northwestern.edu/)! Thank you to our event sponsor, Actuate Law (https://actuatelaw.com/)!

  • Talks by Legal Department Insiders - IFLP Wave One Launch Sept. 12, 2018

    Please register on Eventbrite to join these legal department insiders for an evening of networking and talks: - Steve Harmon, Cisco - John Albright, HUB International Limited - Steve Beard, Adtalem Global Education - Wendy Rubas, VillageMD - David Silverman, JPMorgan Chase & Co. The Institute for the Future of Law Practice has invited our group to attend this event on Wednesday, September 12 at 5:30pm. Please register at: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/wave-one-launch-tickets-49117916009

    1
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks - March 8 at Skadden - ABA Techshow Week

    Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

    Join us at Skadden during ABA Techshow Week. We will begin at 5:00 p.m. with networking and kick off the program at 5:30 p.m. • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program Speakers include: • Judy Perry Martinez, "Changing the Conversation: The ABA Center for Innovation" (https://www.linkedin.com/in/judy-perry-martinez-786a80a3/) (@JPMNOLA (https://twitter.com/JPMNOLA)), Special Advisor, ABA Center for Innovation • Dean Daniel B. Rodriguez (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danielb-rodriguez/) (@DeanDBRodriguez (https://twitter.com/DeanDBRodriguez)), Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law • Tiffany Graves, "How Innovation and Technology Can Help Close the Access to Justice Gap" (https://www.linkedin.com/in/tiffany-graves-54856293/) (@tiffmgraves (https://twitter.com/tiffmgraves)), Pro Bono Counsel at Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP • Jack Newton, "The Data-Driven Lawyer" (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jackbnewton) (@jack_newton) (https://twitter.com/jack_newton)), Clio co-founder and CEO • Jun Qiu ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/juncocoqiu/ ) (@JunQishere (https://twitter.com/JunQishere)), 3L at Chicago-Kent College of Law *** When you arrive at Skadden, check in with security, mentioning that you are here for the Legal Innovation Meetup. The event is on the 28th floor at Skadden. *** Note: Sorry about the messy formatting above. While meetup is in the process of migrating to a newer platform, it seems that we cannot embed hyperlinks. We're working through this problem.

    2
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks at Northwestern Law School

    Northwestern University School of Law

    We will begin at 5:30pm with networking and kick off the program at 6:00 p.m. The event will take place in the faculty commons. From the main entrance at 375 E. Chicago Ave., look for the signs pointing you the stairs or elevator to the Dean’s Office / Faculty Commons. • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program • What's the Hook? - Carla Goldstein ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/carlagoldstein/ ), former AGC at BMO Harris and member of the founding team of SeyfarthLean • Artificial Intelligence in Legal Practice - Dennis Garcia (https://www.linkedin.com/in/dennisgarciamicrosoft/ ), Microsoft Assistant General Counsel • Technology, Law, and Leadership - Jim Lupo (https://www.linkedin.com/in/james-lupo-67344b6/), Director, Center for Practice Engagement and Innovation at Northwestern University School of Law • Training 21st Century Lawyers - Jordan Galvin (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jordan-galvin/), LegalRnD Innovation Counsel (@jordangalvin05 (https://twitter.com/jordangalvin05)) Thank you to our host and sponsor, Northwestern University School of Law (@NorthwesternLaw (https://twitter.com/NorthwesternLaw))! Note: Sorry about the messy formatting above. While meetup is in the process of migrating to a newer platform, it seems that we cannot embed hyperlinks. We're working through this problem.

    1
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks at Chicago-Kent College of Law

    Chicago-Kent College of Law

    We will begin at 5:30 with networking and kick off the program at 6:00 p.m. The event will take place in Morris Hall, 10th floor. • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program • Testing and Learning with Chatbots - Megan Pavich (https://www.linkedin.com/in/megan-pavich-b7b32531/), Corporate Counsel, Allstate (@meganpavich (https://twitter.com/meganpavich)) • ABA Center for Innovation: Year One - Sarah Glassmeyer (https://www.linkedin.com/in/sglassmeyer/), Project Specialist Manager, ABA Center for Innovation (@sglassmeyer (https://twitter.com/sglassmeyer)) • Looking to Purpose-Driven Data - Daniel Elliott (https://www.linkedin.com/in/delliott1014/) (@dleit7 (https://twitter.com/dleit7)) & Vince Vetri (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vvetri/) (@vincevetri (https://twitter.com/vincevetri)), Elevate Services • Polytechnic Legal Education - Alex Rabanal (https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexander-rabanal/), Associate Director, The Law Lab, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law (@afrabanal (https://twitter.com/afrabanal)) Thank you to our host and sponsor, Chicago-Kent College of Law (@ChicagoKentLaw (https://twitter.com/ChicagoKentLaw))!

    4
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks - at HUB International

    Location visible to members

    Join us at HUB International for legal innovation & technology talks. We will begin at 5:30 p.m. with networking and kick off the program at 6pm. Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program John Albright (https://www.linkedin.com/in/john-albright-950ba01/), Chief Legal Officer & Corporate Secretary, HUB International - The Evolving Landscape of Legal Services Alma Asay (https://www.linkedin.com/in/almaasay/) (@AlmaAsay (https://twitter.com/AlmaAsay)), Founder and CEO, Allegory Law (https://allegorylaw.com/) - Legal Innovation 101: What, Why, How, Who Jeffrey Sharer (https://www.linkedin.com/in/datalawyer/) (@JeffSharer (https://twitter.com/JeffSharer)), Akerman (http://akerman.com/) - Collaborative Disaggregation: Akerman Data Law Center (http://www.akerman.com/documents/res.asp?id=2483) Lisa Brzycki (https://www.linkedin.com/in/lisa-a-brzycki-a5b1426/) (@LisaBrzycki (https://twitter.com/LisaBrzycki)), Northwestern Mutual; Maya Markovich (https://www.linkedin.com/in/mayamarkovich/), Nextlaw Labs (via video); Kripa Rajshekhar (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kripar/), Metonymy Labs; Ravi Kiran Mamidanna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/ravikiran17jun/), Abbot; Dennis Kennedy (https://www.linkedin.com/in/dennis-kennedy-66423/) (@denniskennedy (https://twitter.com/denniskennedy)), Mastercard (via video); Dan Linna, Michigan State Law & Michigan Law; Milos Kresojevic (https://www.linkedin.com/in/mkresojevic/) (@miloshk (https://twitter.com/miloshk)), Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer (via video); Kate Simpson (https://www.linkedin.com/in/katesimpson/), Bennett Jones LLP (via video), Andrea Markstrom (https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrea-markstrom-bb91aa3/), Blank Rome (via video) - #SOLID17 Legal Innovation Workgroup Project - Collaborative Innovation Thank you to our host, HUB International (https://www.hubinternational.com/), and our event sponsor, eTERA Consulting (http://www.eteraconsulting.com/) (@eTERAconsulting (https://twitter.com/eTERAConsulting)).

    6
  • #LegalTech & Innovation Talks - March 16 at Skadden - ABA Techshow Week

    Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

    Join us at Skadden during ABA Techshow Week. We will begin at 5:00 p.m. with networking and kick off the program at 5:30 p.m. • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) (@DanLinna (https://twitter.com/DanLinna)) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) (@computational (https://twitter.com/computational)) kick off the program • How To Find North: Navigating the New Disruption - Eddie Hartman (http://linkedin.com/in/edward-hartman-1a6b2), Co-founder, LegalZoom (https://www.legalzoom.com/) (@EddieRHartman (https://twitter.com/EddieRHartman)) • Everyone Else is Doing It, Why Can’t My Lawyer? - Fred Headon (http://linkedin.com/in/fred-headon-cic-c-ad-e-121a1210), Air Canada Assistant General Counsel & Past President of the Canadian Bar Association (@FredHeadon (https://twitter.com/FredHeadon)) • The Dirtiest Word in Legal - Dan Lear (http://linkedin.com/in/danlear), Director of Industry Relations, Avvo (https://www.avvo.com/) (@rightbrainlaw (https://twitter.com/rightbrainlaw)) • Networking through the Internet: Taking Lawyers Where They've Never Gone Before - Kevin O'Keefe (http://linkedin.com/in/kevinokeefe), CEO & Founder, LexBlog (https://www.lexblog.com/) (@kevinokeefe (https://twitter.com/kevinokeefe)) • Using Constraints to Spark Creative Thinking About Law Firm Strategy - Amani Smathers (http://linkedin.com/in/ramanismathers), Legal Solutions Architect, Davis Wright Tremaine De Novo (http://denovo.dwt.com/) (@R_Amani (https://twitter.com/R_Amani)) *** When you arrive at Skadden, check in with security, mentioning that you are here for the Legal Innovation Meetup. The event is on the 28th floor at Skadden. ***

    9
  • Legal Innovation & Tech Talks at Katten

    Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

    We will begin at 5:30 with networking and kick off the program at 6:00 p.m. Speakers include: • Dan Linna (https://www.linkedin.com/in/danlinna) & Dan Katz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/daniel-katz-3b001539) kick off • Do, Make, Say, Think: Building Legal Innovation at the ABA, Geoffrey Burkhart (https://www.linkedin.com/in/geoffrey-burkhart-9349311), Deputy Director, Center for Innovation, American Bar Association (Center for Innovation Twitter: @ABAInnovation (https://twitter.com/ABAInnovation)) • Data to Save You From Missing Deadlines, Yaniv Schiller (https://www.linkedin.com/in/yaniv-schiller-64316b2), Chief Operating Officer, CourtAlert (https://courtalert.com/) - (CourtAlert Twitter: @CourtAlert (https://twitter.com/CourtAlert)) •Cybersecurity Resolutions: New Year, New You, Irene Mo (https://www.linkedin.com/in/irenemo), MSU Law 3L, LegalRnD Innovation Intern, former legal intern at Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard (Irene Twitter: @imokx (https://twitter.com/imokx))

    5
  • Legal Innovation & Tech Talks at Dennemeyer

    Dennemeyer & Co., LLC

    We will begin at 5:30 with networking and kick off the program at 6:00 p.m. Speakers include: • Data discussion & workshop: led by Andrew Baker (https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrewmichaelbaker), Director and Legal Transformation Practice Group Leader, Janders Dean (http://jandersdean.com/2015/) - Practical Practice Analytics - Excitement around data analytics is reaching new highs, but clear starting points and practical projects are still elusive for most. In this session (part discussion, part workshop) Janders Dean will help attendees reframe opportunities and home in on ways to build momentum around the crafty use of practice-oriented data. On Twitter: @AndrewMBaker (https://twitter.com/AndrewMBaker) • Legal-Service Delivery Innovation - Leon Steinberg (https://www.linkedin.com/in/leon-steinberg-a022774), Dennemeyer (http://www.dennemeyer.com/) Managing Director – Clients today expect their lawyers to manage and continuously improve quality and productivity. Leon will talk about new legal-service delivery models and describe Dennemeyer’s philosophy on managing quality and productivity. Dennemeyer consists of two companies, a global law firm and a service entity that provides IP support and management services. Leon will describe how both sides of Dennemeyer and the company’s project management function ensure quality and productivity. Appetizers and beverages will be provided, courtesy of Dennemeyer (http://www.dennemeyer.com/). On Twitter: @Dennemeyer (https://twitter.com/dennemeyer) Arrival instructions: Check in at lobby security desk; receive elevator pass and proceed to 31st floor meeting room (the meeting will be in the building conference room). We highly encourage the use of Twitter and other social media to share ideas presented during the talks and to interact with others from the legal tech and innovation community before, during, and after the event. Get involved and help grow the community. Please use the hashtag #LegalHackCHI. Thank you again to Dennemeyer (http://www.dennemeyer.com/), which is not only hosting, but also sponsoring this meeting and providing appetizers and beverages.

    2