What we're about

Meet nearby MySQL Users for conversation and fun! Come to a local MySQL Meetup to talk about the world's most popular open source database, get great tips and share new ideas. All levels of experience welcome!

Upcoming events (1)

Analytic Views - the Virtual Cube

Online event

Traditionally to model and analyze your data with dimensions and hierarchies, either you copy your data to a data warehouse and from there to a dimensional cube, or you have to write quite a lot of rather advanced code and SQL to emulate the same directly on your relational data. With analytic views (introduced in Oracle Database version 12.2), you declaratively define the dimensions and hierarchies similar to creating a cube, but it is only stored as a metadata layer on top of your tables; it is a multidimensional view of your relational data. The SQL language has been expanded to allow a simpler query syntax on the analytic views to utilize these metadata and automatically use advanced analytic functions to give you dimensional analysis on real-time data. As SQL is used below the covers, performance can be tuned using query rewrite with materialized views or In-Memory options, or any other option you would normally use for SQL tuning. This session will show code examples covering a lot of the syntax you have for creating and using analytic views. Register Here: https://oappsnet.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_p81NNJA3Ram79Kx5kTPmqg Date and Time: Wednesday, Oct 28, 2020, 12:00 PM CDT Please Note: The time zone difference, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MDT / 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PDT

Photos (80)