9800 Willow Springs Rd, Willow Springs, IL
The Little Red School House. In 1886 the present building, originally located on the Black Oak Trail at old 99th Street, replaced a log cabin school. Now hikers enjoy country lanes once used by its student. In 1932 the school house was moved to Camp Kiwanis by a local resident, using only one mule and log rollers. Classes continued there until 1948. In 1952 it was moved to its present site, and in 1955 reopened as a unique, new kind of school. In place of the three R’s, fascinating stories are told to children and grown-ups who visit here, stories about forest preserve plants and animals and the earth of which they live.
In 2010 a new visitor center with additional live animals and exhibits, children’s activity room, and more joined the old school.
***** No dogs are allowed at the Little Red School House or on the trails. *****
The parking lot is located on the west side of Willow Springs Road [also known as Flavin Road or 104th Street] which is between 95th Street and 107th Street.
If there is a wind chill advisory of -10 degrees or lower, this hike will be cancelled but we can still walk through the Little Red School House.