addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Mike D.


Washington, DC

Member since:

February 10, 2014

What's your experience working with drones? Beginners are welcome!

I used to fly gas planes when I was a teenager (25 years ago), and got back into the hobby about 1 ½ years ago, mainly with the intent of getting into FPV and aerial photography. In that short amount of time, I have accumulated a wide variety of aircraft. I have about 14 planes, more than half of which are scratch builds from designs. For multi-rotors I have a 250 mini quad, 450 size quad, and a 550 size hex. All of them are outfitted for FPV, and the 450 is equipped for night flying. I've always been a fan of first person flying games, so the feeling of flying FPV is natural to me. I also have just as much fun working on projects in the shop as I do flying them. I’m also a member of PGRC flying club.

What kind of equipment do you own/operate (ArduCopter 3DR Hexacopter, Phantom, AR Drone etc...) You don't need to have your own equipment to join the group.

DJI F550, DJI F450, DRQ-250. All outfitted for FPV.

What events would you like to see this group have?

Flying events would be great, or meet ups to discuss designs. I work from home and have a wife and three daughters, so anything that gets me out of the house is good.

How did you hear about this group?

Word of mouth, followed by some internet searching

What is your e-mail address?

No answer yet


I'm a Maryland resident who grew up in Edgewater and currently reside in Chesapeake Beach. I'm a technical consultant and have worked in the video communication industry for about 15 years. I have a wife and three daughters.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy