addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Jackie H.

Location:

Kennedale, TX

Member since:

April 7, 2014

What are some of your favorite topics in this area?

I am most interested in everything that has to do with organic gardening, permaculture. I love learning how to make and store my own food. I really would like to put some rain barrels around the house (especially because I don't want to feed city water to my garden).

Do you currently grow things or are you planning to grow something in the near future?

I have two raised beds in my front yard. What I grow varies each year. This spring I have planted tomatoes, basil, sage, strawberries, lemon balm, borage, and lots of herbs in my beds. I'm attempting to landscape my front yard with edibles for the first time. I'm planting lettuce, chard, and patchouli. In the winter I grew spinach, onions, cilantro, radishes, and carrots. I haven't attempted a compost pile yet b/c I have shied away from learning how to do it correctly.

To what extent does self-sufficiency relate to your interest in this subject? (e.g., Very much, Moderately, Not At All)

Very much.

Introduction

Hi! My name is Jackie Harris. I am 29 yrs. old and live in Dallas. I work for a youth and a professional tap dancing company.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy