What we're about

Are you looking for a women's book club where the members love to read, talk and share a laugh or two about books? Join us! The purpose of this group is simple - we read books and we discuss them. Once or twice a month we meet at a local restaurant and enjoy a couple of hours away from the family discussing a book we've read with other fun and interesting women. You'll see as you browse books we've read and books we'll be reading, we have an eclectic reading list with one thing at its center - members like you who enjoy reading a variety of books and discussing them with women you enjoy meeting with each month, sharing your thoughts and laughter.

Although we ask for RSVPs so we'll know how many seats to ask for at the restaurant if there is a wait list for a scheduled meeting put yourself down and plan to come anyway - we always have room for extras!

There are many book clubs and venues in Atlanta for socializing and if all you want to do is drink and socialize we encourage you to join one of these groups instead of our book club. As noted, our focus is to discuss books which in and of itself will be a social activity. Also, there are many book clubs and venues in Atlanta for writers to discuss writing and individuals sending solicitations to promote their books so please kindly remember we are not a forum for members who are authors to discuss writing and promote their books or people sending us emails to promote their books.

Upcoming events (2)

Let's Discuss "The Vanished Birds" by Simon Jiminez

Athens Pizza

$4.00

"This is when your life begins." Join us to read a fascinating book about a mysterious child who lands in the care of a solitary woman, changing both of their lives forever in this captivating debut of connection across space and time. Nia Imani is a woman out of place and outside of time. Decades of travel through the stars are condensed into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for everyone she has ever known. Her friends and lovers have aged past her; all she has left is work. Alone and adrift, she lives only for the next paycheck, until the day she meets a mysterious boy, fallen from the sky. A boy, broken by his past. The scarred child does not speak, his only form of communication the beautiful and haunting music he plays on an old wooden flute. Captured by his songs and their strange, immediate connection, Nia decides to take the boy in. And over years of starlit travel, these two outsiders discover in each other the things they lack. For him, a home, a place of love and safety. For her, an anchor to the world outside of herself. For both of them, a family. But Nia is not the only one who wants the boy. The past hungers for him, and when it catches up, it threatens to tear this makeshift family apart. Plus many other people and adventures to hopefully keep you involved and learning in this sci-fi/fantasy. Maybe something we need this year, maybe something you may think is too much like life right now, but something worth reading if you enjoy science fiction and relationships.

Let's Discuss "This Tender Land" by William Kent Krueger

Athens Pizza House

$4.00

1932, Minnesota—the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole. For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

Past events (122)

Photos (91)

Find us also at