addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo
Cynthia
user 8791113
Moreno Valley, CA
Post #: 5
I have had some great success with one variety of loose leaf lettuce, even through the heat (the packet just said "Salad Bowl")but it's all finishing off and flowering now. This is my first year of gardening and i didn't think to plant new lettuce every couple weeks. Can you tell me of a variety or two that I can plant right now that will make it through the heat? I am doing in ground and container gardening, and i can do pots on the patio and in the shade, part shade or whatever it takes. I have the time to move them around daily, or in and out of doors during extreme heat if necessary. I live in Moreno valley and we get quite hot. I have a friend who gardens here and she has two varieties of lettuce doing great through the heat, one loose leaf, one head, but she tossed the seed packets and has no idea what they are called, she's a first time gardener this year too. I have pictures of her lettuce but no clue what they are and no clue how to post them here, but i could forward them to you in an e-mail. I believe that it is possible, and it's my goal, to have lettuce year round here, and i have some raised beds set up to cover with plastic and make mini-greenhouses for the winter growing, and as i said i am also willing to bring pots in and out in the very cold or hot weather. If you