Past Meetup

Startup Lessons Learned - Boston (Simulcast)

This Meetup is past

71 people went

Details

Startup Lessons Learned is the first event designed to unite those interested in what it takes to succeed in building a lean startup. The goal for this event is to give practitioners and students of the lean startup methodology the opportunity to hear insights from leaders in embracing and deploying the core principles of the lean startup methodology. The day-long event will feature a mix of panels and talks focused on the key challenges and issues that technical and market-facing people at startups need to understand in order to succeed in building successful lean startups.

Confirmed Speakers and Participating Mentors:

Eric Ries, The Lean Startup (@ericries)
Kent Beck, Three Rivers Institute (@kentbeck)
Steve Blank (@sgblank)
Randy Komisar, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
Andrew Chen, Futuristic Play (@andrew_chen)
David Weekly, PB Works (@dweekly)
Hiten Shah, KISSmetrics (@hnshah)
Cindy Alvarez, KISSmetrics (@cindyalvarez)
Ethan Bloch, Flowtown (@ebloch)
Timothy Fitz, IMVU (@TimohtyFitz)
Drew Houston, Dropbox (@drewhouston)
Ash Maurya, WiredReach (@ashmaurya)
Dave McClure (@davemcclure)
Sean Ellis (@seanellis)
Laura Klein
Damon Horowitz, Aardvark / Google
Max Ventilla, Aardvark / Google (@ventilla)
Brant Cooper (@brantcooper)
Clara Shih, Hearsay Labs (@clarashih)
Manuel Rosso (@manuelrosso)
Dan Martell, Flowtown (@danmartell)
Brett Durrett, IMVU
James Birchler, IMVU

Agenda (times are PDT!)
8 AM - 9:20 Registration
9:20 - 9:30 AM Welcome
*Eric Ries, Host, Startup Lessons Learned

9:30 AM - 10:00 AM Build Keynote
*Speaker to be announced

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM Continuous Deployment Case Study: WiredReach
*Ash Maruya, WiredReach

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM Agile Development Case Study: Grockit
*Farb Nivi, Grockit

11:00 AM - 11:30 AM Case Study: "But Does it Scale?"
* Tim Fitz, James Birchler, and Brett Durrett, IMVU

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Lunch

12;30 - 1:00 PM Conversation: Getting to Plan B
* Randy Komisar, KPCB

1:00 PM - 1:30 PM Minimum Viable Product Case Study: Aardvark
*Max Ventilla and Damon Horowitz, Google (Aardvark)

1:30 PM - 2:00 PM Pivot Case Study: Flowtown
*Dan Martell and Ethan Bloch, Flowtown

2:00 PM - 2:30 PM Pivot Case Study: KISSmetrics
*Hiten Shah, KISSmetrics

2:30 PM - 3:20 PM But What about Design? Minimum Desirable Product
*Andrew Chen (Futuristic Play), Laura Klein, Dave McClure, Rashmi Sinha

3:20 PM - 3:45 PM Afternoon Break

3:45 PM - 4:15 PM Customer Development 2.0
*Steve Blank

4:15 PM - 4:45 PM Is Customer Development Marketing? Food on the Table Case Study
*Manuel Rosso, Food on the Table

4:45 PM - 5:15 PM Customer Development Case Study: Dropbox
*Drew Houston, Dropbox

5:15 PM - 5:45 PM Customer Development Case Study: PB Works
*David Weekly, PBworks

5:45 PM - 6:30 PM Customer Development Panel
*Cindy Alvarez, Brant Cooper, Sean Ellis, Matt Johnson

This event is intended for people on the front line of delivering products. If you are a start-up founder, an employee engaged in customer or product development role at a company of any stage, or someone at a large company looking to bring the lean startup methodology to your company, we encourage you to attend the event.