addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1launch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Anne H.

Event Organizer


Hometown: Cambridge

Member since:

September 27, 2012

Who you are? (please include any company/group affiliation)

Initially a maths with physics graduate from the university of Cambridge, I then took a Diploma in Computer Science. Needing surgery I took a year out before beginning a Ph.D. only to find I was pregnant (ok, I'm not that stupid, we decided to take a chance when it looked like funding had fallen through, you just don't expect it to happen first time). In the end I decided juggling motherhood and a Ph.D wasn't for me and I filled my time with mothering and supervising mathematical subjects from the computer science tripos as well as programming in Java and ML. In late 2006 the family headed to the US, for me this meant dropping everything I'd been doing. Roll on a few years and a third kid arrived followed by a brutal separation, being back in the UK with minimal work experience and some health problems isn't exactly straightforward, number of surgeries now equals nine.

Why are you joining? (what could you contribute and/or how you could benefit from makespace?)

Makespace is transforming me, I'm loving meeting a different group of people, a group of people that don't judge. I hope I can bring some more traditional female skills into the space as I am fairly experienced at sewing, quilting etc.


I'm Anne, apparently I'm older than a look, or is that I look younger than I am. I may well have the least work experience of anyone at makespace, but the most babies. I work as a tutor, but have a lot of free time.

What Anne H. is saying about this Meetup Group

Love Makespace, love love love - you don't know how much you have done for me. You are making me feel human again.

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy