Next Meetup

Discussion: Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate
• What we'll do Description of this book: For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart… based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge — until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents — but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals — in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. • What to bring • Important to know

The Pub

204 W. Virginia St. · McKinney, TX

1 comment

What we're about

Public Group

Love to read? Love to spend time in a book store? Are books practically a line item in the family budget? If your answer is "yes," come meet your people. Two years ago, we began with three readers as the McKinney Fiction Book Club with our first book - Cutting for Stone, a novel by Abraham Verghese. We loved it with a great and fiery passion and have been on a quest to find contemporary literature just as good ever since.

Along the way we started a Classics series. Then we added some book-and-a-movie events. And our next innovation will be.... (this is where you get to join in and be a part of the fun!) At the end of the monthly discussions we choose the next few books.

Jump in any time -- pull up a chair and come join us at the bookstore.

Members (338)

Photos (23)