Past Meetup

Let's go see "Her" at the Del Mar Theater

This Meetup is past

39 people went

Location visible to members

Details

http://photos2.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/1/8/0/8/600_313026152.jpeg

HER

Starring: Amy Adams (http://www.metacritic.com/person/amy-adams), Chris Pratt (http://www.metacritic.com/person/chris-pratt), Joaquin Phoenix (http://www.metacritic.com/person/joaquin-phoenix), Olivia Wilde (http://www.metacritic.com/person/olivia-wilde), Rooney Mara (http://www.metacritic.com/person/rooney-mara), Samantha Morton (http://www.metacritic.com/person/samantha-morton), Scarlett Johansson (http://www.metacritic.com/person/scarlett-johansson)Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other.Spike Jonze takes the helm as Director/Writer for this dramtic comedy about a withdrawn writer (Joaquin Phoenix) who falls in love with his computer's highly advanced operating system (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) in a near-future vision of Los Angeles.

Review of "Her" from Variety calls it a, "truly 21st-centruy love story."

The Del Mar is offering $3.00 off general admission tickets. Make sure when you purchase your ticket that you let them know that you are with our Meetup group.

See all Meetups from Movies, theater, plays and more . . .