Past Meetup

Women in Data Science 2017 Conference Screening

This Meetup is past

277 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Registration has been moved to Eventrbite:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/women-in-data-science-conference-tickets-31160687455
Please have a valid ID with you in order to access the building. Note that you will only be admitted if you're on the Eventbrite list.

The Women in Data Science (WiDS) Conference aims to inspire and educate data scientists, regardless of gender, and support women in the field. ​This one-day technical conference provides an opportunity to hear about the latest data science related research in a number of domains, learn how leading-edge companies are leveraging data science for success, and connect with potential mentors, collaborators, and others in the field. For more information visit http://www.widsconference.org/

We will be streaming talks from the conference in addition to networking sessions. Great opportunity to meet fellow NYC data scientist as well as listen to the great lineup of speakers (http://www.widsconference.org/2017speakers.html)!

Agenda:

5:30pm - 6:20pm Networking and Refreshments

6:20pm - 7:15pm Career Panel

Janine Zacharia (http://www.widsconference.org/janine-zacharia.html), School of Journalism (Moderator)
Panelists:
​Maria Klawe (http://www.widsconference.org/maria-klawe.html), President, Harvey Mudd College
Deborah Frincke (http://www.widsconference.org/deborah-frincke.html), Director of Research, NSA
Yael Garten (http://www.widsconference.org/yael-garten.html), Director of Data Science, LinkedIn
Julie Yoo (http://www.widsconference.org/julie-yoo.html), Founder and Chief Data Science Officer, pymetrics

7:15pm - 7:55pm Technical Vision Talk

Finale Doshi-Velez (http://www.widsconference.org/finale-doshi-velez.html), Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Harvard University
Claudia Perlich (http://www.widsconference.org/claudia-perlich.html), Chief Scientist, Dstillery

7:55pm - Networking