What we're about

The Orange County Science Fiction Club was founded in 1982 for fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy. We build our club activities around our meeting on the last Wednesday of every month. We usually have a guest speaker, often an author, but anyone with an association with things Science Fictional is considered. The club also has a SF reader's group and a writer's group attached to it.

Upcoming events (4+)

Monthly Meeting/cancelled

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

Depending on the Covid situation, we are thinking of resuming our in person meetings in 2022. Keep an eye on the site for details.

Reading Orbit/Project Hail Mary

Online event

We are continuing with our Reading Orbit book discussion group online with Skype. To join, download Skype and set up an account. Send your Skype name to CDcurl at aol dot com. Search for READING ORBIT under groups. Our group should come up any time after 6:30 p.m. with a green invite to join.

FEBRUARY’S book is:
PROJECT HAIL MARY by Andy Weir (2021) 496 pages

Ryland Grace is the sole survivor on a desperate, last-chance mission—and if he fails, humanity and the earth itself will perish. Except that right now, he doesn’t know that. He can’t even remember his own name, let alone the nature of his assignment or how to complete it. All he knows is that he’s been asleep for a very, very long time. And he’s just been awakened to find himself millions of miles from home, with nothing but two corpses for company. His crewmates dead, his memories fuzzily returning, Ryland realizes that an impossible task now confronts him. Hurtling through space on this tiny ship, it’s up to him to puzzle out an impossible scientific mystery—and conquer an extinction-level threat to our species. And with the clock ticking down and the nearest human being light-years away, he’s got to do it all alone.
An irresistible interstellar adventure. New York Times best seller.

Monthly Meeting/pending

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Monthly Meeting/pending

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Past events (166)

Reading Orbit/Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

Online event

Photos (201)