What we're about

The Orange County Science Fiction Club was founded in 1982 for fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy. We build our club activities around our meeting on the last Wednesday of every month. We usually have a guest speaker, often an author, but anyone with an association with things Science Fictional is considered. The club also has a SF reader's group and a writer's group attached to it.

Upcoming events (5+)

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

Our January meeting will be an open meeting. We'll be going over club business and reviewing upcoming events for the year, which won't take long. Then we'll just chit-chat. You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Reader's Orbit /Moon Called

Marie Calendar's

The OCSF club reader's group meets on the second Wednesday of every month to discuss our book selection. The discussion starts at 7pm, but most of us come between 6 pm and 6:30 pm for dinner and a chat. This month's book is Moon Called by Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson is a shapeshifter, and while she was raised by werewolves, she can never be one of them, especially after the pack ran her off for having a forbidden love affair. So she’s turned her talent for fixing cars into a business and now runs a one-woman mechanic shop in the Tri-Cities area of Washington State. Only, just when you thought you were out of the pack, events drag you back in. March's book is The Body Snatchers by Jack Finney April's book is The Magician by Somerset Maugham May's book is Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky June's book is Artemis by Andy Weir July's book is Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty August's book is Man in His Time: Best SF Stories of Brian W. Aldis

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

This month's guest, Richard Levesque, has spent most of his life in Southern California. For the last several years he has taught English composition and literature, including science fiction, at Fullerton College. His first book, Take Back Tomorrow, was published in 2012, and he has followed it with other science fiction and urban fantasy novels, novellas, and short stories. When not writing or grading papers, he works on his collection of old science fiction pulps and spends time with his wife and daughter. For further details you can go to his website https://www.richardlevesqueauthor.com

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Past events (97)

Reader's Orbit

Marie Calendar's

Photos (129)