What we're about

The Orange County Science Fiction Club was founded in 1982 for fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy. We build our club activities around our meeting on the last Wednesday of every month. We usually have a guest speaker, often an author, but anyone with an association with things Science Fictional is considered. The club also has a SF reader's group and a writer's group attached to it.

Upcoming events (5)

Reader's Orbit / The Peripheral

Online event

We are continuing with our Reader's Orbit book discussion group online with Skype. To join, download Skype, set up an account and send your account name (generally your name) and email address to [masked] You will then receive an invite to join our Skype group. August's book is THE PERIPHERAL (Pub. 2014) by William Gibson 512 pages (Amazon is currently working on a television series adaptation of the book.) Flynne Fisher lives down a country road, in a rural America where jobs are scarce, unless you count illegal drug manufacture. Her brother Burton lives on money from the Veterans Administration, for neurological damage suffered in the Marines’ elite Haptic Recon unit. Flynne earns what she can by assembling product at the local 3D printshop. Wilf Netherton lives in London, seventy-some years later, on the far side of decades of slow-motion apocalypse. Things are pretty good now, for the haves, and there aren’t many have-nots left. Wilf, a high-powered publicist and celebrity-minder, fancies himself a romantic misfit, in a society where reaching into the past is just another hobby. Burton’s been moonlighting online, secretly working security in some game prototype, a virtual world that looks vaguely like London, but a lot weirder. He’s got Flynne taking over shifts, promised her the game’s not a shooter. Still, the crime she witnesses there is plenty bad. Flynne and Wilf are about to meet one another. SEPTEMBER THE CURRENTS OF SPACE (Pub. 1952) by Isaac Asimov 290 pages OCTOBER- (our Halloween/Horror month) 1. WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE (pub. 1962) by Shirley Jackson 146 pages 2. THE COLOUR OUT OF SPACE (Pub 1927) by HP Lovecraft 43 pages

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Monthly Meeting

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

You can see further details of our club at website (http://ocsfc.org/)

Past events (132)

Monthly Meeting/Cancelled

Marie Calendar's

$2.00

Photos (180)