What we're about

Meet kindred book lovers over dinner in a social setting! Come to laugh, share stories and make new friends! Let's learn what books we all like together. Fiction or non-fiction, paperback or hardcover, audio you will read a new book every month. Never been in a book club then join me as I have never run a book club, we have fun figuring it all out together.

Upcoming events (3)

Online - Movie discussion: Never let me go

Online event

After reading and discussing the book for our monthly book club, let's watch the movie (in your own time) and then hop onto zoom to discuss. "Never let me go" based on the book by Kazuo Ishiguro, is available on DVD (including at the library), Netflix, amazon prime and possibly other streaming services. Feel free to join even if you didn't read the book. Zoom: Make sure to download/register on zoom before the time of the event, and select connect to video and computer audio when entering the meeting. Zoom is available for desktop, tablet and phone. Donations: Please consider donating to help offset the fees that meetup charges organizers, I would still like to keep the group going during the colder months but will not be able to collect event fees in person. Please contact me for paypal or venmo details. *** Never let me go: IMDB rating 7.1, rottentomatoes 70%. Never Let Me Go is a 2010 British dystopian romantic tragedy film based on Kazuo Ishiguro's 2005 novel Never Let Me Go. The film was directed by Mark Romanek from a screenplay by Alex Garland. Never Let Me Go is set in an alternative history and centres on Kathy, Ruth and Tommy portrayed by Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley and Andrew Garfield respectively, who become entangled in a love triangle. Principal photography began in April 2009 and lasted several weeks. The movie was filmed at various locations, including Andrew Melville Hall. The film was produced by DNA Films and Film4 on a US$15 million budget.

Online - November book club: The Air You Breathe

Online event

Join us this month online via zoom to discuss, "The Air you Breathe" by Frances de Pontes Peebles. This selection is on the longer side, so I am notifying you earlier than normal to give you some extra time, please plan accordingly. Zoom: Make sure to download/register on zoom before the time of the event, and select connect to video and computer audio when entering the meeting. Zoom is available for desktop, tablet and phone. A reminder about RSVP'ing. Please be considerate to others and don't hold a spot if you are not sure about attending, as changing to a no last minute does not allow people on the waiting list enough time to read the book. I am limiting the size based on what works well with zoom. Donations: Please consider donating to help offset the fees that meetup charges organizers, I would still like to keep the group going during the colder months but will not be able to collect event fees in person. Please contact me for paypal or venmo details. *** The Air You Breathe - Frances de Pontes Peebles: Pages 464 (Amazon Rating 4.3) Some friendships, like romance, have the feeling of fate. Skinny, nine-year-old orphaned Dores is working in the kitchen of a sugar plantation in 1930s Brazil when in walks a girl who changes everything. Graça, the spoiled daughter of a wealthy sugar baron, is clever, well fed, pretty, and thrillingly ill behaved. Born to wildly different worlds, Dores and Graça quickly bond over shared mischief, and then, on a deeper level, over music. One has a voice like a songbird; the other feels melodies in her soul and composes lyrics to match. Music will become their shared passion, the source of their partnership and their rivalry, and for each, the only way out of the life to which each was born. But only one of the two is destined to be a star. Their intimate, volatile bond will determine each of their fortunes--and haunt their memories. Traveling from Brazil's inland sugar plantations to the rowdy streets of Rio de Janeiro's famous Lapa neighborhood, from Los Angeles during the Golden Age of Hollywood back to the irresistible drumbeat of home, The Air You Breathe unfurls a moving portrait of a lifelong friendship--its unparalleled rewards and lasting losses--and considers what we owe to the relationships that shape our lives. "[A] glorious, glittery saga of friendship and loss... I read The Air You Breathe in two nights. (One might say I inhaled it.)." --NPR "Echoes of Elena Ferrante resound in this sumptuous saga."--O, The Oprah Magazine "Enveloping...Peebles understands the shifting currents of female friendship, and she writes so vividly about samba that you close the book certain its heroine's voices must exist beyond the page." -People The story of an intense female friendship fueled by affection, envy and pride--and each woman's fear that she would be nothing without the other.

Online - December book club: Last Christmas in Paris

Online event

Join us this month online via zoom to discuss, "Last Christmas in Paris" by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb. Zoom: Make sure to download/register on zoom before the time of the event, and select connect to video and computer audio when entering the meeting. Zoom is available for desktop, tablet and phone. A reminder about RSVP'ing. Please be considerate to others and don't hold a spot if you are not sure about attending, as changing to a no last minute does not allow people on the waiting list enough time to read the book. I am limiting the size based on what works well with zoom. Donations: Please consider donating to help offset the fees that meetup charges organizers, I would still like to keep the group going during the colder months but will not be able to collect event fees in person. Please contact me for paypal or venmo details. *** Last Christmas in Paris - Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb: Paperback Pages 400 (Amazon Rating 4.6) An unforgettably romantic novel that spans four Christmases [masked]), Last Christmas in Paris explores the ruins of war, the strength of love, and the enduring hope of the Christmas season. New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor has joined with Heather Webb to create this unforgettably romantic novel of the Great War. August 1914. England is at war. As Evie Elliott watches her brother, Will, and his best friend, Thomas Harding, depart for the front, she believes—as everyone does—that it will be over by Christmas, when the trio plan to celebrate the holiday among the romantic cafes of Paris. But as history tells us, it all happened so differently… Evie and Thomas experience a very different war. Frustrated by life as a privileged young lady, Evie longs to play a greater part in the conflict—but how?—and as Thomas struggles with the unimaginable realities of war he also faces personal battles back home where War Office regulations on press reporting cause trouble at his father’s newspaper business. Through their letters, Evie and Thomas share their greatest hopes and fears—and grow ever fonder from afar. Can love flourish amid the horror of the First World War, or will fate intervene? Christmas 1968. With failing health, Thomas returns to Paris—a cherished packet of letters in hand—determined to lay to rest the ghosts of his past. But one final letter is waiting for him… Review “Gaynor and Webb’s first collaboration is beautifully told [...] the authors fully capture the characters’ voices as each person is dramatically shaped by the war to end all wars.” (Booklist) “Last Christmas in Paris is an extraordinary epistolary novel that explores the history and aftermath of the Great War in a sensitive, memorable and profoundly moving fashion. A book to savor, to share and discuss with friends, and above all to cherish.” (Jennifer Robson, International bestselling author of Goodnight from London and Somewhere in France ) “For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society comes another terrific epistolary historical novel that is simply unputdownable [...] this remarkable novel will undoubtedly go on my keeper shelf.” (Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of The Night the Lights Went Out) “Humor, love, tragedy, and hope make for a moving, uplifting read. A winner!” (Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network) “Best-selling author Gaynor (A Memory of Violets) teams with historical novelist Webb (Rodin’s Lover) to pen a moving and heartfelt story of love and bravery [...]” (Library Journal (starred review)) "There is a special talent to writing the epistolary novel and Gaynor and Webb have mastered it... (in) this devastatingly beautiful work of historical fiction." (Renee Rosen, bestselling author of Windy City Blues)

Past events (160)

Online - October book club: Never let me go

Online event

Photos (110)

Related topics