Past Meetup

Philly New Technology Meetup #8 - Holiday Extravanganza

This Meetup is past

276 people went

Duane Morris LLP

30 S 17th St · Philadelphia

How to find us

Morris Cafe is in the lobby on the left as you enter and head towards the elevators. No need to stop at the security desk. You'll see our check-in table.

Location image of event venue

Details

This will be our first annual Holiday Extravaganza. Duane Morris is hosting us in their building, Steven Starr Catering, food and bar. Rich Cohen and Kate Tepper are the best!

We expect this to be the biggest of our Meetups ever! We're changing the program around. There won't be tech demos, but we will have some fascinating speakers that will inform, challenge, entertain and captivate. You'll hear from Mike Krupit (https://twitter.com/mkrupit), Wil Reynolds (https://twitter.com/wilreynolds), Josh Detweiler (https://twitter.com/JoshDetweiler), Dorothy Danforth (https://twitter.com/danforthmedia), and Joshua Davidson (https://twitter.com/dasjoshua).

More details on the program will be available soon.

Agenda
6:00 - 6:15 Meet and Greet
6:15 Introductions
6:20 Evening sponsors Duane Morris and EisnerAmper
6:25 A Growth Carol, featuring
- Josh Davidson, the ghost of Grow Fast
- Josh Detweiler, the ghost of Grow Big
- Dorothy Danforth, the ghost of Grow Well
7:00 Sponsor Introductions
7:05 Wil Reynolds & Covenant House
7:15 Mike Krupit
7:20 - 8:30 Networking

A Growth Carol

Josh Davidson (http://www.linkedin.com/in/dasjoshua), the ghost of Grow Fast

While most teenagers are busy getting their drivers license, Joshua Davidson, a social entrepreneur, founded his first company Chop Dawg (http://chopdawg.com/), at the ripe age of 16. Shortly after, at the age of 20, he went on to launch his second company, Subtle. Joshua focuses his time on launching startups and growing businesses that disrupt entire industries and make a positive difference. Joshua will be sharing his story on how he started his companies and have grown them through spending little to no money through marketing but instead focusing on organic marketing and story-telling.

Josh Detweiler (http://www.linkedin.com/in/joshdetweiler), the ghost of Grow Big

Josh Detweiler will be sharing about his unique journey from entrepreneurship in diverse industries: from Publishing to Finance to Manufacturing. After leaving the brick and mortar world, he found success in the tech industry in roles ranging from an intrapreneur for a NYC based tech co. to helping lead the globalization of the largest publicly traded social discovery company in US with over 90 Million users. He's currently CEO of AppJaxx Consulting (http://www.appjaxx.com/) which works with companies of all sizes grow their user base from it's current level to beyond what even they dreamed it could be.

Dorothy Danforth (http://www.linkedin.com/in/ddanforth), the ghost of Grow Well

Every entrepreneur wants to see his or her vision become a huge overnight success. But, there can be a heavy price for moving too far, too fast. How big, and how quickly you can grow and still produce a successful company will depend on many things. Dorothy will share stories from her experience working with high growth Silicon Valley startups, and later as a product strategy consultant. She’ll explore how to “grow well,” offering ideas to help you define a pace and scale that will support a healthy, sustainable outcome. Dorothy is the CEO of Danforth Media (http://danforthmedia.com/ideas/), a design strategy firm.

Wil Reynolds (http://www.linkedin.com/in/wilreynolds)

Wil, of SEER Interactive (http://www.seerinteractive.com/), will share his experience in giving back to our community. He'll help us encourage attendees to support Covenant House (http://www.covenanthouse.org/) for this holiday event, and the Young Professionals Sleep Out (http://covhou.convio.net/site/PageServer?pagename=yp_2015_home&fr_id=1430).

Big thanks also to Duane Morris (http://www.duanemorris.com/attorneys/richardlcohen.html), new sponsor EisnerAmper (http://www.eisneramper.com/), Comcast (http://business.comcast.com/), TriNet, SourcePad (http://www.sourcepad.com/), and new sponsor Billy Penn (http://billypenn.com/) for making this possible!