What we're about

https://secure.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/a/6/3/7/600_460002551.jpeg

Calling all compassionate, Plant Based/Vegans; Forkers (Forks Over Knives fans); Plant Pure Nation enthusiasts; What The Healther's; individuals; couples; and families, to get together for pot-lucks and meals out at local vegan and veg friendly restaurants here on the West Side. Whether you are just starting out on your plant-based/vegan journey; are a lifelong vegetarian transitioning to vegan; or are 100% vegan, we welcome you! Join us and connect with like-minded people who care about Mother Earth and All of her inhabitants.

This is a liberal group of fun loving people of all ages, that share laughs while enjoying delicious vegan meals. All of our pot-lucks have plenty of plant-based dishes to satisfy a wide range of tastes and preferences from oil-free; gluten-free; raw; and sugar free. If you would like to host a pot-luck in your home or host a dinner out at one of your favorite vegan restaurants, please don't hesitate to contact me. We look forward to meeting you!

Sincerely,

Anita :)

Plant-Based/Vegan Resource Guide

Documentaries/Websites:

Cowspiracy.com

Earthlings (Nationearth.com)

EATING (Ravediet.com)

EatingYouAlive.com

FatSickandNearlyDead.com

FoodChoices.com

FoodMatters.com

ForksOverKnives.com (Netflix) *

Healing Cancer From Inside Out (Ravediet.com)

Okja (Netflix)

PlanEat.tv

PlantPureNation.com *

The Game Changers – Coming Soon(Gamechangersmovie.com)

WhatTheHealth.com (Netflix)

Vegucated (getvegucated.com)

Magazines: (Hard copy via regular mail or digital copy via e-mail)

NakedFood.com *

VeganHealthandFitnessMag.com

VegNews.com *

Books:

Comfortably Unaware – Dr. Richard Oppenlander

Dr. Neal Barnard’s Program for Reversing Diabetes

Engine 2 Diet – Rib Esselstyn *

How Not To Die (Audio book available too) Dr. Michael Greger

My Beef With Meat – Rip Esselstyn *

Prevent & Reverse Heart Disease – Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn *

The China Study – T. Colin Campbell, Phd

The Starch Solution – Dr. John McDougall *

Other:

AnOasisofHealing.com (Mesa, AZ) – Dr. Thomas Lodi

DrMcDougall.com *

Engine2Diet.com

FatFreeVegan.com *

Happycow.net (Worldwide Vegan Restaurant Finder & Travel Guide)

Nutritionfacts.org ("e" Newsletter and informative videos/reports on A-Z subjects) Dr. Michael Greger

Nutritionstudies.org

OhSheGlows.com *

OneGreenPlanet.org (Amazing animal stories, vegan news, & recipes) *

Plantbaseddoctors.org (A worldwide directory of Plant Based Physicians)

PCRM.org (Dr. Neal Barnard & Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine)

PhoenixVegan.com

Veggiesdontbite.com *

* Recipes

Vegetarian, Vegan, and Veg Friendly Valley Restaurants:

24 Carrots – 24carrotsjuice.com (breakfast, lunch, & dinner) (vegan)

Chipotle – chipotle.com (try the organic sofritas) (vegan options)

CUFF - cuffdowntown.com (ask for the vegan menu)

Even Stevens – evenstevens.com (vegan options)

Fresh Mint – freshmint.us.com (closed on Sunday) (vegetarian)

Green (Tempe & Phoenix) – greenvegetarian.com (vegan)

Flower Child (vegan options available) – iamaflowerchild.com

Loving Hut (35th Ave. & Union Hills Rd., Glendale) – lovinghut.us (100% Vegan)

Nami (organic, breakfast, brunch, bakery & soy soft serve desserts) - tsoynami.com (vegan)

Pei Wei – peiwei.com (tofu & veggie or just veggie options for rice or quinoa bowls)

Picazzo’s Healthy Italian Kitchen – Picazzos.com (Union Hills Rd. & 83rd Ave., Glendale) (vegan options)

Pita Jungle – pitajungle.com (lots of vegan options)

Pomegranate Cafe (organic and locally sourced) – pomegranatecafe.com (vegan/vegetarian)

Saigon Kitchen – saigonkitchenaz.com (ask for vegan menu)

Scramble – azscramble.com (vegan menu available)

Simon’s Hot Dogs – simonshotdogs.net (vegan options available)

The Coronado – thecoronadophx.com (vegan/vegetarian)

The Cutting Board – cuttingboardcafe.com (vegan)

True Food Kitchen – truefoodkitchen.com (vegan options available)

Tonto Bar & Grill – tontobarandgrill.com (ask for vegan menu)

Vegan House – veganhouseaz.com

Veggie Village – vegvillage888.com (closed on Saturdays) (vegan)

Yard House – yardhouse.com (Ask for the Gardein brand vegan items with no cheese)

Local Burger Joints

Chili’s – chilis.com (black bean burger-ask for no cheese and NO butter on bun)

Johnny Rockets – johnnyrockets.com (veggie burger)

Smashburger – smashburger.com (black bean burger-ask for NO butter on grill or bun)

Local Pizza Joints – All have non-dairy cheese or ask for no cheese.

Char – charpizzeria.com

Fired Pie – firedpie.com

Blaze Pizza – blazepizza.com

Mod Pizza – modpizza.com

Mellow Mushroom – mellowmushroom.com

NYPD Pizza – aznypdpizza.com (Try the Veganizza pizza, pasta with marinara, or just build your own pizza)

Picazzo’s Healthy Italian Kitchen – Picazzos.com (Gluten Free/Vegan Options)

Cookbooks (Just too many to list).

Search for Plant Based or Vegan cookbooks on Amazon.com or at your local library or bookstore.

Forks Over Knives Cookbook

Healthy Happy Vegan Kitchen

How Not To Die Cookbook

Plant Based Cookbook

The China Study Cookbook

The Happy Herbivore

The No Meat Athlete

The PlantPure Kitchen

Vegan Travel

ATasteofHealth.org (Plant Based/Vegan Caribbean Cruise)

Happycow.net (Worldwide Vegan B&B finder)

Vegan-Cruises.co

Vegancruises.eu

VeganRiverCruises.com

Veg Jaunts and Journeys – vegjauntsandjourneys.com (Vegan Tours)

Vegan Cheese Brands (Based in North America, distribution varies):

Daiya Foods (http://us.daiyafoods.com/)

Dr. Cow Tree Nut Cheese (http://www.dr-cow.com/)

Field Roast Chao Slices (http://fieldroast.com/)

Follow Your Heart (https://followyourheart.com/vegan-cheese/)

Kite-Hill Artisan Vegan Cheese (http://www.kite-hill.com/)

Miyoko’s Creamery (http://miyokoskitchen.com/)

Nacheez Vegan Nacho Cheese (http://www.nacheez.com/)

Parma! Vegan Parmesan (http://www.eatparma.com/)

Parmela Creamery (http://www.parmelacreamery.com/)

Punk Rawk Labs (http://punkrawklabs.net/nut-milk-cheeses.html)

Teese by Chicago Vegan Foods (http://chicagoveganfoods.com/products/teese-vegan-cheese/)

Three Girls Vegan Creamery (http://www.threegirlsvegan.com/)

Treeline Treenut Cheese (http://www.treelinecheese.com/)

Vromage (http://www.vromage.com/)

Violife (https://violifefoods.com/) (Internationally Distributed)

Vegan Cheese Cookbooks

You can also make outrageously good gourmet vegan cheeses at home. There are currently many popular cookbooks devoted exclusively to vegan cheese. Check these out on Amazon.com.

This Cheese is Nuts!, by Julie Piatt

Artisan Vegan Cheese, by Miyoko Schinner

The Cheesy Vegan, by John Schlimm

The Non-Dairy Evolution Cookbook, by Skye Michael Conroy

The Art of Plant-Based Cheesemaking, by Karen McAthy

Vegan Cheese, by Jules Aron

The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook, by Jo Stepaniak

Plant Based/Vegan Food Delivery To Your Door

22 Days Nutrition – 22daysnutrition.com

Foodflo – Foodflo.com

Fresh n’ Lean – Freshnlean.com

Plant Perfection Foods – Plantperfectionfoods.com

Plant Pure Nation – Plantpurenation.com

Purple Carrot – Purplecarrot.com

The Vegan Garden – Thevegangarden.com

The Vegan Taste – thevegantaste.com (Local Glendale, AZ Chef)

Veestro “Plants Please” – Veestro.com

Vegin Out – Veginout.com

Vegan Grocery Store – Downtown Glendale, AZ

Veggie Rebellion – VeggieRebellion.com (100% Cruelty Free, Animal Free Products)

https://secure.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/6/6/5/2/600_464426194.jpeg

Upcoming events (4)

Discussions (0)

This content is available only to members

Members (58)

This content is available only to members