addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1launch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

The Portland Hiking Meetup Group Message Board Gear Talk › Bivy or Tent?

Bivy or Tent?

A former member
Post #: 1
Hello!
I am rebuilding my kit and I am trying to decide between a bivy or a tent. I have never used a bivy before but it seems like some people love them. My budget is ultra low, trying to stay sub $100. As far as tents go I am looking at this.
http://www.amazon.com...­

I am more of a long trip backpacker than a day hiker, so I need something that will be comfortable for at least a week to a month. I know with my price point I am not going to get the best of the best. Any suggestions? Open to ideas and all input.
thank you,
Jim
A former member
I'm trying to decide on this myself. I'm use to using two light weight tarps , rope and a hammock, (cover and foot print if needed), but this method also has some draw backs, (mosquito's).

You might also consider want to consider a hammock with rain fly. This keeps you off the ground, and dry. This can be done for the price that your willing to pay.

Personally I am also considering picking up the REI passage 2 Tent for $149.00.

You can also consider looking at Craig's list for better deals.

A former member