addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Southern Sierra Hiking Club Message Board › Suggestions for newbie hikers / camper

Suggestions for newbie hikers / camper

Salina
user 51233372
Bakersfield, CA
Post #: 1
Hello!!!

I'm a newbie hiker n camper. Can anyone suggestion or give me a list of the do's/don't and what to take and what to to take while hiking/camping.

Thank you much in advance for any advise you can give.
Salina
Wayne Bernard S.
user 56425912
Fresno, CA
Post #: 1
Hello Salina. One of the most important considerations is your gear, starting with a good pair of hiking boots. Look for comfort, good tread, and high medium to high tops. Foot blisters can be a problem, so takes steps to avoid them, including breaking in new boots well in advance of a hike. I wear mine to work sometimes, it helps to break them in. On a longer hike, say over 10 miles, consider wearing 2 pairs of socks. That will reduce friction, and reduce blisters.