What we're about

STORIES OF THE WATER is a learning circle for collective healing from the effects of global stresses in everyday life by centering the stories and experiences of those most impacted. We will explore self-development topics to affirm individual paths that infuse the roots of our truths into the real world.

Each time we meet, we will support new conversations with the physical practice of meditation and yoga so that our whole bodies are present and immersed in what we’re reading. This is a space in which to plant seeds for our self liberation while being guided inwardly by great authors!

This group is for anyone ready to explore interconnected growth and transformation. It is to interconnect our stories through personal growth. And also to examine and extract our blockages to celebrating the life we imagine.

Upcoming events (5+)

The Happiness Project 💦

Southeast Branch Library

Let's kick-off 2019 with The Happiness Project! The concept is a nice plan for starting off the new year with intentional focus. We will do some visioning for the year with yogic magic. ************************ Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation. ****************************** Each time we meet, we will support new conversations with the physical practice of meditation and yoga so that our whole bodies are present and immersed in what we’re reading. This is a space in which to plant seeds for our self liberation while being guided inwardly by great authors! As always, reading the book is highly recommended but not required to share our lived experiences and explore outside knowledge. $10 Donation at the door

The Body is Not an Apology

Orlando

STORIES OF THE WATER is a learning circle for collective healing from the effects of global stresses in everyday life by centering the stories and experiences of those most impacted. We will explore self-development topics to affirm individual paths that infuse the roots of our truths into the real world. Each time we meet, we will support new conversations with the physical practice of meditation and yoga so that our whole bodies are present and immersed in what we’re reading. This is a space in which to plant seeds for our self liberation while being guided inwardly by great authors! It is for anyone ready to explore interconnected growth and transformation. Join us on the 4th Thursdays of the month @ COAL 8:30-10pm. Our first book will be “Braving the Wilderness” by Brene Brown - start reading now but also excerpts will be provided! $10 Donation at the door

The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck

Orlando

Is a dose of reality needed for our happiness? What is a real reality check, anyway? Let's explore this book and find out. ********************************** In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be "positive" all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people. For decades, we’ve been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. "F**k positivity," Mark Manson says. "Let’s be honest, shit is f**ked and we have to live with it." In his wildly popular Internet blog, Manson doesn’t sugarcoat or equivocate. He tells it like it is—a dose of raw, refreshing, honest truth that is sorely lacking today. The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k is his antidote to the coddling, let’s-all-feel-good mindset that has infected American society and spoiled a generation, rewarding them with gold medals just for showing up. Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach lemons better. Human beings are flawed and limited—"not everybody can be extraordinary, there are winners and losers in society, and some of it is not fair or your fault." Manson advises us to get to know our limitations and accept them. Once we embrace our fears, faults, and uncertainties, once we stop running and avoiding and start confronting painful truths, we can begin to find the courage, perseverance, honesty, responsibility, curiosity, and forgiveness we seek. There are only so many things we can give a f**k about so we need to figure out which ones really matter, Manson makes clear. While money is nice, caring about what you do with your life is better, because true wealth is about experience. A much-needed grab-you-by-the-shoulders-and-look-you-in-the-eye moment of real-talk, filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humor, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k is a refreshing slap for a generation to help them lead contented, grounded lives. ****************************************** Each time we meet, we will support new conversations with the physical practice of meditation and yoga so that our whole bodies are present and immersed in what we’re reading. This is a space in which to plant seeds for our self liberation while being guided inwardly by great authors! As always, you do not need to read the book to join as the goal is to support our lived experiences with outside knowledge. $10 Donation at the door

Stories of the Water

COAL Space

STORIES OF THE WATER is a learning circle for collective healing from the effects of global stresses in everyday life by centering the stories and experiences of those most impacted. We will explore self-development topics to affirm individual paths that infuse the roots of our truths into the real world. Each time we meet, we will support new conversations with the physical practice of meditation and yoga so that our whole bodies are present and immersed in what we’re reading. This is a space in which to plant seeds for our self liberation while being guided inwardly by great authors! It is for anyone ready to explore interconnected growth and transformation. Join us on the 4th Thursdays of the month @ COAL 8:30-10pm. Our first book will be “Braving the Wilderness” by Brene Brown - start reading now but also excerpts will be provided! $10 Donation at the door

Past events (3)

Stories of the Water

COAL Space

Photos (8)