addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Ruth

Location:

Antioch, IL
Hometown: Antioch, IL

Member since:

June 29, 2012

Are you currently a vegetarian/vegan?

I used to be. Most meals are vegetarian. I eat minimal organic dairy, fish & poultry. My teenage son is almost vegan--strong sensory aversian to meat & cheese, craves hot spices & intense flavors, obsessively health-conscious, and a devoted animal lover.

How long have you been interested in the veg lifestyle?

I became vegetarian 37 years ago when I took a vegetarian cooking class in high school with 7th Day Adventists. Vegan for a couple of months, then ovo-lacto for about 10 years. Then I was ovo-lacto+fish/seafood for several years. I started eating poultry a few years ago. I have no interest in mammal meat. Health, sustainable living, and fresh flavors are my reasons.

What types of activities are you interested in doing with this group?

Group cooking, potlucks, eating out, making friendships. My 15 year old son, Peter, would like to join in. He's been 98% vegetarian for most of his life--can't stand cheese, has egg & milk only in baked goods or a rare heavily spiced hard boiled egg, and occassionally a couple of bites of heavily spiced chicken breasted or shrimp. He throws together unique flavors. He's interested in animal rights, too.

Introduction

I'm an occupational therapist living in Antioch with my husband & 2 teens. I'm a mostly vegie+fish/poultry omnivore. My 15 y.o. is a vegetarian spicaholic & creative cook. My 13 y.o. likes typical US kid food. Bob is on Maximized Living Adv. Plan.


Member of

  • This member chose not to make their Meetup membership information public.

Interests

  • This member chose not to make their interests public.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy