Past Meetup

Dutch Science Fiction. Award-winning authors read&discuss their work- IN ENGLISH

This Meetup is past

13 people went

Price: €9.00 /per person

Location visible to members


Dutch Science Fiction for Dutch and International Audiences (language: ENGLISH)

What: Four award-winning Dutch sci-fi writers, Mike Jansen, Jan Kuipers, Anaid Haen, and Floris Kleijne will read from their own work (in English). Following this they will share their own experiences in a panel discussion on the theme “Writing Science Fiction for Dutch-language and international audiences ”. The audience will be encouraged to participate and ask questions. Following this there will be time to socialise over drinks.

Where: This event will take place at the Torpedotheater (Parooltheater), Sint Pieterspoortsteeg 33. For a map:

When: The 21st of June, doors open at 14:30.

Tickets: The Torpedotheater charges 9 euro entrance pp. Tickets can be booked in advance through the theatre:, or be paid at the door. Limited seating available, so it is recommended to book in advance.

The event language is English.

Mike Jansen

Mike has published Flash Fiction and short stories, as well as longer work. He has published in a range of Dutch literary journals including Cerberus, Wonderwaan, Ator Mondis, and Babel-SF. He was co-author of Ragnarok and Zwarte Zielen. In 1991 Mike won the Rob Vooren award for best new author, and in 1992 he won a shared King Kong Award with Paul Harland. In 2012 and 2013 he won the Cultureel Festival Baarn writing competitition, the SaBi-forum Thor competition, and Fantastels. Mike currently publishes mostly in English.

Anaid Haen

Anaïd Haen writes science-fiction, fantasy, thriller, and children’s books. She won the Unleash Award in 2010 and has won the Pure Fantasy competition eight times. Her short stories were published in literary journals including Pure Fantasy, Wonderwaan, Op Ruwe Planken, and in books including Zee van Verbeelding, Verborgen achter de Horizon, and Fantastisch Strijdtoneel II. She organises the prestigious annual writing competition Fantastels. In addition to prose, together with Cocky van Dijk, she has written four ‘Sinterklaas’ musicals.

Jan J. B. Kuipers

Jan is a multi-genre author and has published over 50 books as well as hundreds of shorter pieces on topics including history, archaeology, and literature, and within genres ranging from science fiction to thrillers and children’s literature. He won the King Kong Award jointly with his brother Gert P. Kuipers in 1983 and solo in 1987, he won the Millennium Award in1997, the Zeeuwse Boekenprijs in 2005, and the Gorcumse Literatuurprijs[masked]. He has published essays, articles, short stories, and poetry in Hollands Maandblad, Optima, Spiegel Historiael, De Tweede Ronde, Traditie, An der Grenze, Albedo One, and other publications.

Floris M. Kleijne

Floris Kleijne has published short stories in English and Dutch in a wild variety of media. In 2004 he was the first Dutch writer to win the Writers of the Future Contest; in 2012, he was the first Dutch writer to qualify for active membership of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). In The Netherlands, he is actively involved in the Paul Harland Prijs contest, and associated initiatives to promote and strengthen Dutch-language speculative fiction. He is also the editor of the Millenniumanthology of the best Paul Harland Prijs stories of 2008.

The panel discussion:

The panel discussion will touch upon issues such as publishing and / or writing in a foreign language, writing with or without your audience in mind, the Dutch market for science fiction, and new possibilities for self-publishing. How much interest is there for science fiction in the Netherlands? Does it make sense to publish in English as well as in Dutch? What’s preferable, writing in English or having your work translated? Have new possibilities for self-publishing brought new opportunities to the internationally orientated writer? Join us to find out.


15:00 Opening

1st speaker: Mike Jansen

2nd speaker: Jan Kuipers

16: 00 1st break

3rd speaker: Anaid Haen

4th speaker: Floris Kleijne

17:15 2nd break

Panel discussion