addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Edinburgh is an amazing city - I know that's why I moved here. Its full of beauty, life and vitality but small enough to explore. It is culturally diverse with a lot to offer throughout the year - from the big art festivals to the smaller events, music, art, cinema, theatre, comedy, street performance, literature... you name it it happens here at some point throughout the year. I've set this group up to sample some of that with like-minded others in an accessible down-to-earth way. You don't have to be high brow or elitist to enjoy culture - it an experience we can all share - not just plummy aesthetes from Belgravia who go to Glyndebourne 'because it's expected' of them.

Join this group if you want to do more than "exist"; if you want to explore a cultural side to this great city - both high and low culture - we won't discriminate. Join if you know a lot about a certain subject and want to share that passion with others. Join too if you have no idea but just want to soak things up and "live". We post a range of diverse cultural events but it would be good to also hear of your ideas. We may overlap with events from other groups but that's okay, we'll just double-up and you'll get to expand your social circle even more. Keep logging into the website* to keep informed of what we're organising.

If you like this group but also love movies then you'll love HBLB's sister group Edinburgh Cinema Group. We have members who belong to both. So why not join both?

Dave Wood

Organiser

FRINGE PERFORMERS/PROMOTERS:  HBLB is a cultural social group. It is not a free listings website or a what's-on guide to Edinburgh. Please don't ask to promote your FRINGE show on this group's Meetup site. Please don't join HBLB as a member to attempt to post your show. It's not nice. If you do, your event won't be announced to the group, you will be barred from HBLB, and we will slag off your show for the entire month to everyone we meet, seriously we will. So please enjoy your run at Edinburgh, good luck with your FRINGE performance, but don't try to promote your show on here. All HBLB's organisers carefully choose the shows they wish to see themselves from the 3000+ events. We don't want 3000+ email flyers clogging our Inboxes thank you very much.

* Please keep logging into the website to keep your membership active, as inactive memberships (members who don't log in for more than 6 consecutive months) will be cancelled.


We're 926 Cultees

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Saturday, December 10, 2016 12:15 PM

    BOOK-BINDING WORKSHOP at The Edinburgh Remakery Sat 10th Dec

    2 Cultees attending
  • Monday, December 12, 2016 6:30 PM

    Super Furry Animals at the Usher Hall - 12 December 2016

    4 Cultees attending
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2016 7:00 PM

    COMEDY - THE STAND CHRISTMAS SPECIAL (1 free ticket) Weds 14th December

    3 Cultees attending
  • Thursday, December 15, 2016 6:30 PM

    NT Live: No Man's Land - Cineworld - Thursday 15 December

    7 Cultees attending
  • Friday, December 16, 2016 7:00 PM

    HBLB CRIMBO: LAST CHRISTMAS (+ Crimbo Drinkies) - Traverse Friday 16th December

    6 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, December 17, 2016 6:30 PM

    ALICE's ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND at The Lyceum Saturday 17th Dec 2016

    10 Cultees attending
  • Wednesday, January 11, 2017 6:00 PM

    RSC Live: The Tempest - Cameo - Wednesday 11 January 2017

    7 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, January 21, 2017 7:00 PM

    PICNIC AT HANGING ROCK at The Lyceum Saturday 21st Jan 2017

    9 Cultees attending
  • Thursday, February 2, 2017 6:15 PM

    NT Live: Amadeus - Cameo - Thursday 2nd February

    6 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, February 18, 2017 2:00 PM

    Ruth Rendell's A Judgement in Stone, King's Theatre, Sat 18 Feb @2pm

    3 Cultees attending
  • Wednesday, February 22, 2017 7:00 PM

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time - Festival Theatre, 22/02/17

    8 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, February 25, 2017 7:00 PM

    THE WINTER'S TALE at The Lyceum Saturday 25th Feb 2017

    5 Cultees attending
  • Thursday, March 9, 2017 6:15 PM

    NT Live: Hedda Gabler - Cameo - Thursday 9th March

    3 Cultees attending
  • Tuesday, March 14, 2017 7:00 PM

    Danza Contemporanea De Cuba, Festival Theatre, Tues 14 March @ 7pm

    1 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, March 18, 2017 7:30 PM

    Elvis Costello - Detour 2017, Festival Theatre, Sat 18 March 7.30pm

    4 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, March 25, 2017 7:00 PM

    HAY FEVER at The Lyceum Saturday 25th Mar 2017

    5 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, April 8, 2017 7:00 PM

    A NUMBER at The Lyceum Saturday 8th Apr 2017

    7 Cultees attending
  • Friday, May 12, 2017 7:00 PM

    Matthew Bourne's The Red Shoes, Festival Theatre, Friday 12 May

    4 Cultees attending
  • Friday, May 12, 2017 7:00 PM

    GIG - CARA DILLON at QUEENS HALL Friday 12th May 2017

    1 Cultees attending
  • Saturday, May 13, 2017 7:00 PM

    CHARLIE SONATA at The Lyceum Saturday 13th May 2017

    5 Cultees attending
 
Founded May 14, 2010

Organizer:

Dave Wood
Contact

Our Sponsors

  • HOPE not hate

    HOPE not hate: Celebrating modern Britain by campaigning against racism.

  • Friends of Wilson

    Our design consultancy produces architectural acoustics for interiors.

  • Sponsor Logo Goes Here

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy