addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1launch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

The Seattle Ruby on Rails Developers Meetup Group Message Board › Ubuntu and Windows Set-up

Ubuntu and Windows Set-up

A former member
Post #: 6
I'm new to RoR and have a Windows PC. I want to use that PC as my local server/dev machine and was told by many of RoR programmers that using Windows for RoR is really complex and/or impossible and that I should use a Mac (which I don't have and can't afford at this time) or Linux. Since I know my way around Ubuntu and have the hardware to support it I decided to go that route.

So now I need to get Ubuntu Linux up and running on my Windows machine and can't figure out if I should
1) dual boot;
2) run a virtual OS inside my Windows OS or
3) install Ubuntu Desktop Edition.

If anyone here has any suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Kris Luminar
A former member
Post #: 5
Using Rails on Windows is never a good option. It'll be more work than just running ubuntu. That, and you'll get to learn good unix tools. I can't imagine running git on windows, for example.