Metro Hack Night IV

This is a past event

154 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Metro Hack Night is a show & tell of Metro-related apps and data visualizations. We are thrilled to be hosted by WMATA at Metro's headquarters. We'll be on the first floor; be sure to bring an ID in order to enter the building. Please arrive a bit early, as it will take a while to process everyone through the metal detectors and check IDs.

Many thanks to our sponsors at Mobility Lab (http://mobilitylab.org/), Socrata (https://www.socrata.com/), and (yes!) WMATA (http://www.wmata.com/) for making this meetup possible.

We're opening the doors earlier than normal in hopes of not clogging up the security desk. You are welcome to join us at 5:30. We'll have pizzas, salad, and cupcakes. The presentations start at 6:30. Our speakers (http://mvjantzen.com/meetup/metrohacknight4.html) are:

• Carey Anne Nadeau of Open Data Nation (http://www.opendatanation.com) and Michael Eichler of WMATA (http://planitmetro.com/) will talk about open-data projects in other cities and about the future of WMATA's own APIs and open data.

• James Ferrara (https://github.com/jamesfe/) will discuss his (beta! (http://ec2-52-0-245-181.compute-1.amazonaws.com/)) work on predicting metro rail delays.

• Alex Lindeman (https://ael.me/) will demo WMATA With You (http://github.com/aelindeman/wmata-with-you), a Pebble app that shows the DC Metrorail schedule.

• Rebecca Mills (https://about.me/rebecca.mills) will demo WhatsaMATA (https://whatsamata.herokuapp.com/), which lets riders submit and share their own experiences.

• Ross Filice will talk about how he started with the DC Next Bus (http://www.junebot.com/dc-next-bus.html) app, then expanded to 18 other cities.

• Andrew Yue (https://github.com/andrewyue) will show how WMATA Watcher (http://wmatawatcher.herokuapp.com/) uses Metrorail-related tweets to make predictions about delays in service.

• James Pizzurro (http://jamespizzurro.com/) will show how MetroHero (http://dcmetrohero.com/) tracks and visualizes Metrorail trains and delays in real-time.

• Thomas Solow (https://github.com/solowt) will present his DC Trains (https://dc-trains.herokuapp.com/) project.

• Tim Burke (http://timburke.co/) will show how he made a transit dashboard (http://dashboard.timburke.co/) for his condo building.

• Ian Dixon (http://dixonmobility.com/) will demo his DC Metro and Bus (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dc-metro-and-bus/id578496721) app.

• Gio Gatto (https://github.com/giofrankgatto) will preview his Traze (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id1073721057) app which allows riders to report and post issues on Metro.

To build your own Metro apps, hacks, and visualizations, find WMATA's open data via PlanItMetro's data-download (http://planitmetro.com/tag/data-download/) tag, or use their developer tools (https://developer.wmata.com/).

Want to see what happened at previous events? Visit pages for Metro Hack Night I (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/154437572/), II (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/218874680/) and III (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/222624278/), and read Techies Tackle WMATA Data at Metro Hack Night (http://mobilitylab.org/2014/01/06/techies-tackle-wmata-data-at-metro-hack-night/) and 5 Apps for Catching Your Train and Being Productive on D.C.’s Metro (http://mobilitylab.org/2015/07/07/5-apps-for-catching-your-train-and-being-productive-on-d-c-s-metro/).

Be sure to check out March's event, Bike Hack Night V (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/228155655/).

Follow @techiesdc (https://twitter.com/techiesdc) for "Transportation Techies" updates