addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Traditional New Year's Day hike

  • Ian's house

    5 Jacks Point Rise, Jacks Point, Queenstown (map)

    -45.078310 168.750810

  • My house at 10am or the car park at the bottom of the Remarkables ski field road at 10:10am.
  • Hi All,

    It's nearing that time of the year again - last year's hike was excellent so I'm hoping for a repeat performances by both the weather and the group :-)

    We'll drive up to the Remarkables ski field and walk up the easy track to Lake Alta. From there, we have options :-) eat lunch and lie in the sun, wander around the lake, go for a swim, and/or hike higher up. I'll be going higher if I can - the hiking gets harder (some scree and steep drops) but also more dramatic. I'll probably head onto the ridge above shadow basin and up towards the cones. Open to suggestions though.

    I'll drive up and can take 7 in total. We'll probably need another volunteer to drive. If you need a lift to the start, leave a comment here and hopefully someone can oblige! I recommend you bring lunch, decent shoes/boots for walking on rock, sunscreen, clothing suitable for whatever the weather may bring, swimming stuff if you are brave, and a camera

    Comment or message me with questions.

    Cheers, Ian

Join or login to comment.

Want to go?

Join and RSVP

6 going

  • Ian
    Organizer,
    Event Host

    Originally from UK. Relocated to Q'town in Feb 2013 after living in Australia for 10 years.... more

  • David

    I'm David, and I live here in Queenstown. I've hiked the Persian Steps in Oman.... more

  • Mei +1
  • Lilian Andrea P.

    I am originally from Colombia.I have lived in NZ for 12 years& 4 of them I have live in Qt.I... more

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy