Past Meetup

​LIVESTREAM-Women ​​in ​Data​ ​Science​ ​(WiDS) Conference​@Stanford University

This Meetup is past

126 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Join us for a live stream of the Women in Data Science from Stanford.
Learn more about data science, machine learning and big data from a research perspective. Unlike any industry conference, this conference is uniquely tailored by the research community to give insights into the trends coming in the future. Come and network with colleagues in this field and learn more from experienced mentors during the breakout sessions.

WHAT WILL YOU GAIN
1) Excellent insights from research and academia in Deep Learning/Machine Learning/Data Science from LiveStream speakers.
2) Listen to keynotes by Dr. Latanya Sweeney (Harvard), Jia Li (Google-AI), Leda Braga and many more from LiveStream speakers.
3) Ask questions and discuss the Technical Vision talks at the meetup during networking breaks.
4) Network with colleagues and seek mentor-ship from mentors around during breaks.

CONFERENCE DESCRIPTION
The Global Women in Data Science (WiDS) Conference aims to inspire and educate data scientists worldwide, regardless of gender, and support women in the field. This annual one-day technical conference provides an opportunity to hear about the latest data science related research and applications in a broad set of domains.

CONFERENCE SCHEDULE
All times Pacific Standard Time (PST)

8:30-9:00am: Registration

9:00-9:10am: Opening Video & Remarks: Margot Gerritsen (http://www.widsconference.org/margot-gerritsen.html), Senior Associate Dean and Director of ICME, Stanford University [LiveStream]

9:10-9:30am: Welcome: Maria Klawe (http://www.widsconference.org/maria-klawe.html), President, Harvey Mudd College [LiveStream]

9:30-10:05am: Keynote: Leda Braga (http://www.widsconference.org/leda-braga.html), CEO, Systematica Investments [LiveStream]

10:05:10:10am: BREAK/Networking [In-Person, JFCC]

10:10-10:30am Mala Anand (http://www.widsconference.org/mala-anand.html), EVP, President, SAP Leonardo Data Analytics [LiveStream]

10:30-10:50am Lada Adamic (http://www.widsconference.org/lada-adamic.html), Research Scientist Manager, Facebook [LiveStream]

10:50-11:00am: BREAK/Networking [In-Person, JFCC]

11:00-11:15am: Live Women in Big Data (WiBD) Overview, Soumya Guptha (http://www.widsconference.org/soumya-guptha.html), Marketing Manager, Intel [In-Person, JFCC]

11:15-11:35am: Nathalie Henry Riche (http://www.widsconference.org/nathalie-riche.html), Researcher, Microsoft Research [LiveStream]

11:35-11:55am: Daniela Witten (http://www.widsconference.org/daniela-witten.html), Associate Professor of Statistics and Biostatistics, University of Washington [LiveStream]

11:55am-12:30pm: Keynote: Latanya Sweeney (http://www.widsconference.org/dr-latanya-sweeney.html), Professor of Government and Technology in Residence, Harvard University [LiveStream]

12:30-1:00pm: In-Person Panel Discussion Kelly Hammond, Leena Puthiyedath, Meena Arunachalam, Padma Apparao, Soumya Guptha, Suresh Srinivas, all Intel [JFCC]

12:30-2:00pm: LUNCH provided [JFCC]

2:00-2:35pm: Keynote: Jia Li (http://www.widsconference.org/jia-li.html), Head of Cloud R&D, Cloud AI, Google [LiveStream]

2:35-2:55pm: Bhavani Thuraisingham (http://www.widsconference.org/bhavani-thuraisingham.html), Professor of Computer Science and Executive Director of Cyber Research and Education Institute, University of Texas at Dallas [LiveStream]

2:55-3:15pm: Elena Grewal (http://www.widsconference.org/elena-grewal.html), Head of Data Science, Airbnb [LiveStream]

3:15-3:35pm: BREAK/Networking [In-Person, JFCC]

3:35-4:15pm Career Panel Bhavani Thuraisingham, Ziya Ma (http://www.widsconference.org/ziya-ma.html), Elena Grewal, Jennifer Prendki [LiveStream]

4:15-4:35pm: Risa Wechsler (http://www.widsconference.org/risa-wechsler.html), Associate Professor of Physics, Stanford University [LiveStream]

4:35-4:55pm: Dawn Woodard (http://www.widsconference.org/dawn-woodard.html), Senior Data Science Manager of Maps, Uber [LiveStream]

4:55-5:00pm: Closing Remarks [LiveStream]