What we're about

Public Group

Zeitgeist Seattle (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/expressions)

What does Zeitgeist Seattle do?

We are part of a larger sustainability advocacy movement (The Zeitgeist Movement (http://www.thezeitgeistmovement.com/)), which promotes a shift to a global systematic change that will support humanity as a whole in a sustainable way. As part of that, our mission includes networking locally in the Seattle, Washington region with sustainability groups and community sharing organizations.

We offer community outreach by promoting local Sustainability, Technological, Environmental, and Social Change projects and events designed to educate and allocate shared resources. We see the benefits of an educated public in regards to community driven resources here in Seattle and are committed in helping streamline the information effectively toward achieving real solutions to the systemic flaws our communities are faced with today.

Local organizations we currently support (please contact zeitgeistseattle@gmail.com for support)

List is continuously being updated:

CompassionateSeattle Map:

Compassionate Seattle Heart Map (http://www.compassionateseattle.org/heartmap)

Seattle Sustainable Orgs.:

Transition Seattle (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/transition-seattle?user=zeitgeistseattle)
Sustainable Seattle (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/sustainable-seattle?user=zeitgeistseattle)
Sustainable West Seattle (http://www.sustainablewestseattle.org/)
Sustainable Wallingford (http://greenwallingford.ning.com/)
Sustainable Ballard (http://sustainableballard.org/wiki/Welcome_to_Sustainable_Ballard!)
Sustainable Northeast Seattle (http://sustainableneseattle.ning.com/)
Sustainable Greenlake (http://sustainablegreenlake.ning.com/)
Sustainable Crown Hill (http://www.sustainablecrownhill.org)
Sustainable Queen Anne (http://www.sustainableQueenAnne.org)
Sustainable Downtown Seattle (http://www.tinyurl.com/4csm4xq)
Sustainable Capitol Hill (http://www.sustainablecapitolhill.org)
Sustainable Belltown (http://www.sustainablebelltown.org)
Sustainable South Seattle (http://www.columbiacitizens.net/sss:welcome)

Community Sharing (Local):

Neighborrow Seattle (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/neighborrow-seattle?user=zeitgeistseattle) (Borrowing and Lending)
Fourth Corner Exchange (http://www.fourthcornerexchange.com/FAQ.php) (Local currency alternative)
West Seattle Fixers (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/west-seattle-fixers-collective?user=zeitgeistseattle) (Tool Fixing Collective)

Eastside Timebank (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/eastside-timebank?user=zeitgeistseattle) (The Largest Local Time Bank)

Regional Support:

SCALLOPS (http://goscallops.org/) (Sustainable Communities All Over Puget Sound)
Puget Sound Starts Here (http://pugetsoundstartshere.org/in-your-local-area/events-around-the-sound/#march) (Link to events page)

Green Building (Local):

Earthship Seattle (http://www.meetup.com/Earthship-Seattle/)

Seattle Maker Spaces:

Jigsaw Renaissance (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/jigsaw-renaissance?user=zeitgeistseattle) (Local Maker Space)
Metrix Create: Space (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/metrix-create-space?user=zeitgeistseattle) (Local Community Hackerspace)
Office Nomads (http://officenomads.com/) (Co-worker Office Space)
Co-Working Seattle Wiki Page (http://wiki.coworking.info/w/page/16583695/CoworkingSeattle)

Seattle Tool Exchanges:

West Seattle Tool Library (http://wstoollibrary.org/) (Sustainable West Seattle)
Phinney Tool Library (http://www.phinneycenter.org/tools/index.shtml) (Phinney Neighborhood Association)
Wallingford Tool Library (http://greenwallingford.ning.com/group/wallingfordtoollibrary) (Sustainable Wallingford)

Seattle Urban Farming:

Beacon Food Forest (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/beacon-food-forest?user=zeitgeistseattle) (Permaculture Collective)
Seattle Tilth (http://seattletilth.org/our-community/urbanagfoodgroups) (Urban Food Groups List)
Urban Bee Company (http://www.urbanbee.com/) (Urban Bee Farming)
Plant Amnesty (http://coworkingtour.com/) (Gardening Collective and Educator)

Seattle Social Change Groups:

Indra's Rainbow (http://www.indrasrainbow.org/) (Local IONS - Insitute of Noetic Sciences (http://noetic.org/))
Out For Sustainability (http://outsustainability.org/) (Mobilizing a greener LBGTQ community)
Pull Together Now (http://pulltogethernow.org/) (Solutions through Collaboration)
Compassionate Seattle (http://compassionateseattle.org/) (Collective Impact - network weaver)
Sound Convergence (http://www.facebook.com/groups/soundconvergencenetwork/) (Awareness through social networking)
Seattle Cascadia Project (http://seattlecascadiaproject.org/) (Seattle Chapter of Cascadian Independence Project)

Seattle Emergency Preparedness Groups:

West Seattle Prepared (http://westseattle.bepreparedseattle.info/site/page1.aspx)
Capitol Hill Prepares (http://caphillprepares.wordpress.com/)
Wallingford Community Preparedness (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Wallingford-Community-Preparedness/193906220649143)

Community Centers:

Phinney Neighborhood Center (http://www.phinneycenter.org/) (Phinney Ridge)
El Central De La Raza (http://www.elcentrodelaraza.com/) (Beacon Hill)
Good Shepherd Center (http://www.historicseattle.org/projects/gscmeetingroomrent.aspx) (Wallingford)
University Heights Center (http://www.uhcca.org/) (U-District)
Youngstown Cultural Arts Center (http://youngstownarts.org/) (West Seattle)
Ravenna Eckstein Community Center (http://www.seattle.gov/parks/centers/ravennaecksteincc.htm) (U-district)

Seattle Government Sustainability Links:

Office of Sustainability and Environment (http://www.seattle.gov/environment/)
Restore Our Waters Innitiative (http://pugetsoundstartshere.org/in-your-local-area/local-resources/seattle)

Educational Links:

Kahn Academy (http://www.khanacademy.org/) (Learn Almost Anything For Free!!!!)
WatchKnowLearn.org (http://www.watchknowlearn.org/)

Free Exchange Links:

FreeCycle (http://www.watchknowlearn.org/)
FreeCycle Seattle (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FreecycleSeattle/)
Neighborrow Seattle (http://zeitgeistseattle.thenewhive.com/neighborrow-seattle?user=zeitgeistseattle)(Borrowing and Lending)
Voilition (http://volition.com/)
StartSampling (http://startsampling.com/) (Free Samples)

Worlwide United Movement Links:

Evolver (http://www.evolver.net/)
Bioneers (http://www.bioneers.org/)
KarmaTube (http://www.karmatube.org/)
CouchSurfing (https://www.couchsurfing.org/)
SustainableTable (http://www.gracelinks.org/1117/welcome-to-sustainable-table)
TimeBanks (http://timebanks.org/)
TheStoryOfStuff (http://www.storyofstuff.com/)
ConsciousCreativity (http://consciouscreativity.com/)
BurningMan (http://burningman.com/)
HumanityHealing (http://humanityhealing.org/)
Idealist (http://www.idealist.org/)
PangeaDay (http://pangeaday.org/)
EatWellGuide (http://www.eatwellguide.org/i.php?pd=Home)
PostModernWorld (http://postmodernworld.com/)
IonsNoeticScience (http://noetic.org/)
PermacultureForRenters (http://permacultureforrenters.com/)
RealitySandwich (http://www.realitysandwich.com/)
TEDx (http://www.ted.com/)
Appropedia (http://www.appropedia.org/Welcome_to_Appropedia)
Wwoof (http://wwoof.org/)
WorldChanging (http://worldchanging.com/)
GuerrillaGardening (http://guerrillagardening.org/)
AskNature (http://www.asknature.org/)
SolarLiving (http://solarliving.org/)
Leonardo (http://leonardo.info/)
Tribe (http://www.tribe.net/welcome)
IntentionalCommunity (http://ic.org/)
OpenSourceEcology (http://opensourceecology.org/)
ContourCrafting (http://rs20.abstractdns.com/~contourc/contourcrafting/)

What is the Zeitgeist Movement?

The Zeitgeist Movement is about awareness of the underlying systemic flaws that cause the problems in our world. The key to that is getting people talking and gaining momentum through social bonds. Essentially, come hang out and talk with other people who are concerned about the direction of our world and help come up with solutions to fix it... or even come to debate the world view if you like. Anyone is welcome.

If you are unfamiliar with the Zeitgeist Movement, it is an international grass-roots awareness movement focused on reforming our global economic system to better serve the health and long-term sustainability of human life.

We believe that the for-profit and consumption aspects of our global economy are innately unsustainable, and we need a new system based on equal distribution and intelligent use of the Earth's resources if we expect to survive and achieve any sort of global happiness and peace.

We believe that the Human species already possesses the technological and social capability to support its entire populous through automation and intelligent technical resource management, but instead we use those systems for profit and to produce goods with planned obsolescence. This creates massive disparity in our society and massive inappropriate usage of our global resources, and it has to stop... one way or the other.

We believe there is no symptomatic solution to a systemic problem. We have to fix the core of the system, and we have to do it soon. Please come join us if you see any truth in those concepts, or even if you would like to debate those claims. This is a movement for EVERYONE, because these issues concern every human being.

Members (426)

Photos (87)