addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1launch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

DK L.

Location:

Alexandria, VA

Member since:

May 12, 2012

Networks

Please describe the dog(s) you own: name, breed, age, sex, etc... so we can get to know a little more about our new pack member(s)!

Finn is a 6 year old Tibetan terrier who enjoys hiking, canoeing and hanging out. He has his AKC Good citizenship Badge, his PAL therapy certification, and completed a Rally course. He loves staying in hotels on our travels; his favorite spot was a tent in the Algonquin forest (dogpaddlingadventures.com). He has worked with Alzheimer's patients, returning vets, and actors at the Kennedy Center. His picture is on my Facebook page. He works pretty well off lead. As expected with his breed, it may takes a moment to warm up to others. He is great with children. He is friendly, calm, well-behaved. Finn loves the duke street park, visiting new parks, and shopping.

What are you looking for in a trail club? Describe what you hope to get out of the group and what can you contribute to the group.

Sharing interests of hiking and dogs. My husband is a frequent traveller and I would like to explore trails with other folk, beyond my usual haunts.. Great Falls (both sides), dyke marsh, Holmes run, etc...especially when he is out of town. Given the nature of my work, I am calm, prepared and good natured. I just completed my open water scuba certification, emergency first response certificate. Scuba is my other favorite activity, and I am working on other certifications.

What does your ideal day outdoors involve? Please give the name and location of your favorite local hike or walk and describe the trail for us. Is it rocky, is there much elevation change, does it involve water, etc...

Will have packed the night before. Up early to get on the road. Like varied terrain such as Potomac heritage trail which offers a bit of everything. Average hike is 3 miles, intermediate trails. Finn and I have worked out a pretty good system when he is off-lead. He will wade, but not swim.

Have you and your dog(s) earned any titles or are you working towards any titles? Agility, Canine Good Citizen (CGC), working dog, pack dog, water dog, therapy dog, etc... ???

See above. We found your address while we were looking up information for a Virginia chapter of dog Scouts of America as Finn and I both enjoy activities together.

Introduction

My husband and I both work at the Kennedy Center. One of my jobs is auditioning and training animals for shows. Favorite activities are centered around Finn and his 3 cat brothers. Finn and I are avid hikers, my husband less so!


Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy