addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Borders Books & Music January events

From: Virginia
Sent on: Saturday, December 19, 2009 12:31 PM
WHO: Robyn Carr

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Forbidden Falls

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

1115 Annapolis Mall, Annapolis, MD

[masked]

WHEN: Monday, January 04, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: Reverend Noah Kincaid moved to Virgin River to re-open an abandoned church he bought on eBay. Like Noah, the place is a little empty inside and needs some loving care. The young widower arrives ready to roll up his sleeves and build a place of worship and welcome, but he needs some help. And the Lord works in mysterious ways...





WHO: Joel Richard Paul

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of Unlikely Allies

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

18th & L Streets, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Wednesday, January 06, 2010, 6:30PM

WHY: As the American colonists boldly declared their independence and geared up to do battle with the British, an unlikely triumvirate was at work behind the scenes, quietly securing the French alliance that would prove crucial to the success of the Revolutionary War. The all-but-forgotten story of this secret coalition between a Connecticut shopkeeper, a celebrated French dramatist and a cross-dressing chevalier is rescued from the dusty archives of history in the engaging new book, UNLIKELY ALLIES.





WHO: Walter Isaacson

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of American Sketches

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

18th & L Streets, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 07, 2010, 6:30PM

WHY: In this collection of essays, Walter Isaacson reflects on the lessons to be learned from Benjamin Franklin, Albert Einstein, Bill Gates, Henry Kissinger, Ronald Reagan, Mikhail Gorbachev, Hillary Clinton and Bill Clinton, and various other interesting characters he has chronicled as a biographer and a journalist.





WHO: Lora Leigh

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Guilty Pleasure

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

17636 Garland Groh Blvd, Hagerstown, MD

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 07, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: Guilty Pleasure is the sizzling new erotic tale from New York Times bestselling author Lora Leigh.





WHO: Monica Burns

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Kismet

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

9750 W Broad St, Glen Allen, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 07, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: Set in 1893 Morocco, KISMET follows Allegra, an independent courtesan who rose from a modest background, and Viscount Newcastle, who escapes into the Moroccan desert after the horrible death of his brother only to find Allegra. He knows she's trouble, but it's impossible to ignore a woman who contradicts everything his experience has taught him.





WHO: Carla Dickerson

WHAT: Community Event of The Scholarship Lady Workshop

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

931 Capital Centre Blvd., Largo, MD

[masked]

WHEN: Friday, January 08, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: College & Career Consultant and former counselor for Prince George's County Schools, Carla Dickerson better known as "The Scholarship Lady", is here to advise students and their families on college admissions, scholarship acquisition and SAT/ACT test preparation and how it translates to college and career success. "It's not how you start...it's how you finish."!





WHO: Peter Earnest

WHAT: Reading and Signing of The Real Spy's Guide to Becoming a Spy

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

11054 Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Saturday, January 09, 2010, 2:00PM

WHY: This fascinating, fact-filled book answers these questions and more while providing a historical timeline, definitions of key terms, suggestions for further reading, an index, quizzes, and exercises to see if you have the right spy stuff.



WHO: Jerry Doyle

WHAT: Signing of Have You Seen My Country Lately?

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

18th & L Streets, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Sunday, January 10, 2010, 1:00PM

WHY: Jerry Doyle is sound, simple, funny, and direct as he delivers his hard-hitting take on the important issues affecting our country - some straight from today's headlines, some that haven't yet seen the light of day - and urges all Americans to take back the things that make our country great.





WHO: Steve Berry

WHAT: Reading and Signing of The Paris Vendetta

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Monday, January 11, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: Former Justice Department operative Cotton Malone is about to find out when trouble comes knocking at his Copenhagen bookshop. Actually, it breaks and enters in the form of an American Secret Service agent with a pair of assassins on his heels. Starting in Denmark, moving to England, and ending up in the storied streets and cathedrals of Paris, Malone plays a breathless game of duplicity and death, all to claim a prize of untold value. But at what cost?





WHO: Tracy Chevalier

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Remarkable Creatures

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Wednesday, January 13, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: In 1810, a sister and brother uncover the fossilized skull of an unknown animal in the cliffs on the south coast of England. With its long snout and prominent teeth, it might be a crocodile - except that it has a huge, bulbous eye. Remarkable Creatures is the story of Mary Anning, who has a talent for finding fossils, and whose discovery of ancient marine reptiles such as that ichthyosaur shakes the scientific community and leads to new ways of thinking about the creation of the world.





WHO: Elizabeth Kostova

WHAT: Reading and Signing of The Swan Thieves

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Friday, January 15, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: Psychiatrist Andrew Marlowe, devoted to his profession and the painting hobby he loves, has a solitary but ordered life. When renowned painter Robert Oliver attacks a canvas in the National Gallery of Art and becomes his patient, Marlow finds that order destroyed. Desperate to understand the secret that torments the genius, he embarks on a journey that leads him into the lives of the women closest to Oliver and a tragedy at the heart of French Impressionism.





WHO: Gretchen Rubin

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of The Happiness Project

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5333 Wisconsin Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Monday, January 18, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: A crowded bus is an unusual spot for an epiphany. But for Gretchen Rubin, a rainy afternoon ride sparked a sudden realization: time was passing, and little of it was spent doing things which made her feel happy. On the spot, she resolved to dedicate one full year to getting happy. In THE HAPPINESS PROJECT: Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun, Rubin chronicles her quest to become happier.





WHO: Eric Blehm

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of The Only Thing Worth Dying For

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

18th & L Streets, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Tuesday, January 19, 2010, 6:30PM

WHY: THE ONLY THING WORTH DYING FOR: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan reveals, for the first time, the astonishing true story of the Special Forces A-team that helped conquer southern Afghanistan and bring Hamid Karzai to power. In powerfully simple prose, Eric Blehm weaves together the unbelievable chain of events that intimately expose the realities of modern warfare and international politics during the critical months following the September 11th attacks.





WHO: Robert Merry

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of A Country of Vast Designs

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5333 Wisconsin Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

[masked]

WHEN: Tuesday, January 19, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: Robert Merry tells the story of powerful debates and towering figures --the outgoing President John Tyler and James K. Polk's great mentor, Andrew Jackson; his defeated Whig opponent, Henry Clay; two famous generals, Zachary Taylor and Winfield Scott; Secretary of State James Buchanan (who would precede Lincoln as president); Senate giants Thomas Hart Benton and Lewis Cass; Daniel Webster and John C. Calhoun; and ex-president Martin Van Buren, like Polk a Jackson prot?g? but now a Polk rival.





WHO: Jeannette Walls

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Half Broke Horses

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Wednesday, January 20, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: Jeannette Walls's The Glass Castle was "nothing short of spectacular" (Entertainment Weekly). Now she brings us the story of her grandmother -- told in a voice so authentic and compelling that the book is destined to become an instant classic.





WHO: Antoine Orr

WHAT: Community Event of Small Investor Protection Workshop

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

931 Capital Centre Blvd., Largo, MD

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 21, 2010, 7:00PM

WHY: With his new book, Inside the Huddle, President & CEO of Plancorr Wealth Management, Antoine Orr, is educating the small investor on what it takes to control their finances and realistically build wealth in today's economy.





WHO: Laura Bynum

WHAT: Reading and Signing of Veracity

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

251 West Lee Hwy, Warrenton, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 21, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynum has written an astonishing debut novel about a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the highest price of all.





WHO: Stephen Hunter

WHAT: Reading and Signing of I, Sniper

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Thursday, January 21, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: Bob Lee Swagger, Hunter's most notorious character, recently brought to life on the big screen by Mark Wahlberg in Shooter, is back in I, SNIPER. This true American hero fights to clear the name of a fellow soldier-in-arms and faces off against one of his most ruthless adversaries yet?a sniper whose keen intellect and pinpoint accuracy rivals his own.





WHO: Josh Sundquist

WHAT: Discussion and Signing of Just Don't Fall

WHERE: BORDERS BOOKS & MUSIC

5871 Crossroads Center Way, Baileys Crossroads, VA

[masked]

WHEN: Monday, January 25, 2010, 7:30PM

WHY: Josh Sundquist was your standard energetic and inquisitive 9-year-old when he was diagnosed with Ewing's sarcoma, a virulent strain of cancer that ultimately claimed his left leg. Told in a wide-eyed, winning, funny, and heartbreaking voice, JUST DON'T FALL tells the story of the boy Josh was and the young man he became. His extraordinary journey takes him from his small town through a dizzying array of hospitals, onto high school, and then to the mountains, where Josh learns to ski.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy