addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

New Wave - Young Boston Feminists Message Board › Transgender Language Research

Transgender Language Research

A former member
Post #: 9
Hello!

My name is Cynthia Simonoff and I am an undergraduate at Brandeis University participating in an experiential learning semester of ethnographic fieldwork. I’m conducting a research project studying gender and language in the Greater Boston Area. The aim of this study is to explore the ways in which traditional concepts of the way “men” and “women” speak apply or don’t apply to trans*-identified people and to consider how this affects how genders are read from/ascribed to people. Some questions my research will be attempting to answer are things like: Does speaking in particular ways (or avoiding speaking in particular ways) help trans* people perform their gender to the greater population? Can genders be accurately guessed from speech? If so, how?