addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1languagelaunch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinlockm-swarmSearchmailmediummessagesminusmobilemoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahooyoutube

Community Resources - Local Restaurants


LIST OF RESTAURANTS WITH RECOMMENDATIONS, CAUTIONS AND COMMENTS

This is definitely not an exhaustive list, and there may be wrong information. Each restaurant name links to either the menu, site, or allergen information. Always ask and specify, educate and inform whenever possible.




ATOMIC COFFEE
The Broadway location is good, as far as vegetarian food goes. They have one vegan wrap, the sun-dried tomato hummus. The pesto hummus wrap has Parmesan in it. They sell ABC cookies, which are vegan, as well as Love in the Oven stuff; brownies, peanut butter banana cookies and carrot cake bars are vegan. They can make hot chocolate done w/ soy or almond milk, but there whip topping is not vegan.

ARBY'S
There are some salads. The turnovers are vegan. (apple, cherry, blueberry) The Arby's sauce and barbecue sauce, lite Italian Dressing, French and sub dressing are most likely suitable for vegans. For vegetarians, other options are the Mozzarella Cheese-stick and Jalapeño Bites, as they use vegetable rennet. Home-style Fries, Curly Fries and Potato Cakes are vegan. The sour cream contains gelatin. Their buns and biscuits contain egg or milk derivatives.

BABB'S COFFEE HOUSE
Has a great vegan sandwich and also sells vegan cookies.

BREADSMITH
Breadsmith has a couple of breads each day that are vegan. They also have some spreads and dips that are vegan, and they are willing to help people with their selections.

BURGER KING
You can order French fries, which are fried in dedicated potato fryers using only vegetable shortening. Their Veggie Burger is NOT vegan.

CAFE ALADDIN
FM Veg recommendation: falafels & lentil/rice dish

CHILI'S
Some vegetarian and vegan dishes are Garden salad, Tortilla with Beans. Steamed Vegetables (such as broccoli, corn and squash) and baked potato. There is butter in the mashed potatoes. The French fries are cooked in the same oil that meat products are cooked in.

CHINA BUFFET at EastTen Mall
Their Home-make bean curd, Szechuan Style are vegan, you can also ask for General Tso's Tofu. Their fried tofu is MAGICAL!

CHUCK E CHEESE
The pizza crust is not vegan. The cheddar, Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses are made with vegetarian rennet. The Italian and fat-free Catalina dressings are vegan. The blue cheese and Ranch dressings contain cheese. The three-bean and pasta salad contain mayonnaise made from eggs. The Thousand Island dressing contains eggs.

DAIRY QUEEN
Their fries are vegan. Side salad is vegan. Garden salad has eggs. The Vanilla and Chocolate Soft Serve ice creams supplied from Dairy Queen Corporation are vegetarian, and the mono and diglycerides that are in them are derived from a vegetarian source. Some individual restaurants offer additional soft serve favors and their ingredients may not be vegetarian, so you will have to ask about this. The only vegan frozen treat is the Chiller and Arctic Rush, formerly known as a Mister Misty back in my day. ;)

DENNY'S
Some Denny's offer Amy vegan veggie burgers with vegan bun in some locations. They have baked potatoes and sautéed Mushrooms. They have oatmeal, English muffins, bagel and grits (which are most likely vegan). Some other vegan items are guacamole, boule bread, light rye bread, side salad, sauerkraut, applesauce and Dutch Apple Pie. Vegan dressings and sauces are Oriental, barbecue sauce, salsa, reduced French, oil & vinegar and Light Italian. Bread is purchased locally so you may want to confirm their ingredients. Some vegetarian dishes are cold cereals with milk, baby carrots, garden salad, cottage cheese, onion rings, corn, mozzarella sticks and the Blue Cheese Dressing. Some places may have cheese pizza and a vegetable Plate. The hash browns are vegan but may be cooked on a grill that meat is cooked on (most likely). Have Diced Skillet Potatoes and Diced Skillet Potatoes with Veggies but how they are cooked is definitely suspect. The rice pilaf contains chicken broth. Cheese sticks, fries and onion rings are fried in oil (soybean based) that meat is cooked in. They say they use three fryers and cook different things in each one of them. In fryer 1 there is fried French fires, Mozzarella Sticks, Skillet Potatoes. In fryer 2: Fried fish, onion rings and shrimp and in fry 3: chicken. The lemon meringue pie contains gelatin. Breads that contain eggs are dinner rolls, cakes, French bread, Texas toast and all the pies except the Dutch apple pie. Honey mustard, Caesar, Thousand Island and French dressings contain eggs. There is gelatin in the Parmesan cheese.

DOMINO'S PIZZA
The Salads and the Italian and Lite Italian dressings are suitable for vegans. The pizza crusts contain whey and the pizza sauce is vegan. One of their four pizza crusts is vegan, but only a select stores have it. The enzymes used in the cheese are of a microbial origin (non-meat). HPR Vegan Food Review, July 2008: Order their thin crust with pizza sauce and veggies (hold the cheese) and a garden salad without cheese and either the Golden Italian Dressing or Light Italian Dressing.

DRUNKEN NOODLE
Drunken Noodle has some veganoptions upon request and will alter dishes to exclude animal products, but please be sure to educate what the difference between vegan and vegetarian is.

EVEREST TIKKA HOUSE They will veganize many of their dishes on the menu, and you can order off menu Gobi Manchurian, vegan momos, and several other traditionally vegan Indian and Nepali dishes. They have options of yellow or black lentils, oyster mushroom, Satued spinach, homemade potato pickles, fried okra, mixed pickle, rice or beaten rice, lentil bread, aloo gobi(potato and cauliflower), vindaloo, etc.

GIGI'S ICE LOLLIES(seasonal)
She has flavors that rotate, such as vegan "Hot Chocolate" flavored frozen treats made with coconut milk, Banana splits, and Strawberry Basil. She uses organic ingredients when feasible.

GRAND JUNCTION
FM Veg recommendation: Grilled east coast style veggie sub is just delicious!

HODO
Takes pride in sourcing as much as possible from local farmers and ranchers and will accommodate almost any dietary preference.

HU HOT
Vegetarian sauces include their BBQ, Hoisin, Mustard, Sweet & Sour, and Teriyaki. They also have lots of add-in sauce ingredients to change it up. They will clean the grill & try to use spatulas to guard your food if you tell them you are vegan. If they don't, ask.

INDIA PALACE RESTAURANT
VERY VEG-FRIENDLY! Wonderful menu and delicious food! They will substitute coconut milk for cow's milk in dishes calling for it, and substitute a vegetable of your choice for paneer (cheese) in those dishes.

JADE DRAGON
Several standard Asian menu items, fresh ingredients. They have mock duck dishes! Vegetarian Delight, Szechwan Delight, Moo Shoo Vegetable, Vegetables and Bean Curd, Broccoli with Garlic Sauce, Vegetable Almond Ding, and much more.

JUANO'S
Suggestions by our members: For vegetarians; the veggie enchilada, and for vegans; the veggie burrito with roasted veggies and Ranchero sauce. You have to ask for it with black beans instead of pinto, and no sour cream or cheese. Our kids liked dipping chips into black beans and salsa. Their guacamole is not vegan, as it contains sour cream, unfortunately.

LEELA THAI
Much like Thai Orchid, you can request that your dish be made vegan or vegetarian, just specify your preference of no seafood sauce, dairy, etc.

LITTLE CAESAR'S
The pizza cheese is vegetarian. Vegan items are Crazy Bread, Crazy Sauce, pizza dough, tomato pizza sauce, veggie sandwich (without cheese), tossed salad and Greek salad (without cheese). Italian, Lite Italian dressing and Greek dressings are vegan. The Veggie Spice for the Italian Cheese Bread contains Parmesan cheese.

LUCY'S NORTH CHINA CUISINE
No MSG. Pepper with dried tofu served with rice on the side; Bok Choy W/ Black Mushrooms are some suggestions, not sure about sauces.

MCDONALD'S
Their fries are NOT vegan, they contain milk, as well as their hashbrowns. Most McDonald's won't customize their salads as they are made in the morning, but they do have a garden salad with veggies only. They offer Newman's Own low fat dressings-Balsamic Vinegar and Sesame Ginger, and French.

MEZZALUNA
They can make some menu items vegan, and will also make special dishes upon request, such as mac and cheese (call ahead) and Thai black rice with seasoned veggies and portabello mushrooms. Spendy!

MOE'S SOUTHWEST GRILL
Very similar to Qdoba, except they have tofu, and have veg versions of all their dishes, as well as homemade chips and choice of salsa with every order; mild, medium and inferno.

NOODLES & COMPANY
They indicate on their paper menus (available at the front) which items are vegetarian. They do substitutions and since you generally decide what, if any, protein you want to add, it works pretty well. Some sauces are not vegan, but here, under the "Vegan Dishes" tab is a list of their vegan dishes and how to order them vegan. It's pretty delicious, and it's quick! I recommend the Japanese Pan Noodles, and the Bangkok curry (it's vegan, despite the info).

OLIVE GARDEN
If you don't eat eggs there is not much reason to come here, almost all the dishes contain meat and eggs. The pastas are made with eggs and the breading for the Eggplant Parmigiana contains eggs. Their house dressing contains Parmesan, eggs and cheese. They also serve veal; many veg folk avoid restaurants that serve veal on ethical grounds.

PAPA JOHN'S
Lists the ingredients of some of their dishes on their web site. The original pizza dough, the breadsticks and the pizza sauce (tomatoes, olive and canola oils) are vegan. The mozzarella cheese used on the pizzas contains microbial (vegetarian) rennet. The Parmesan cheese contains animal rennet. The Special Garlic Sauce contains mono- and diglycerides and lecithin from and unknown source.

PARADISO
Their menu has a whole vegetarian section featuring Gardein vegan steak strips and chick'n strips!
The Gardein Chicken Fajitas were great. Just be sure to order without the cheese or sour cream, and ask for guacamole without a cheese garnish.

PASSAGE TO INDIA
The entire north section of Passage to India's buffet is always vegetarian, but rarely vegan. Like most places with buffets, steer clear, and order off the menu.

PERKINS
The seasoned rice is vegan. Some restaurants have a salad bar. Ask for broccoli without butter to have it vegan (ask for a "garden vegetable mix" with some butterless broccoli and rice for a stir fry!). The hash brown casserole is made with chicken stock.

PIZZA HUT
There is both a meat-free and meat-based marinara sauce for the pasta dishes. The pizza crust, regular pizza sauce and marinara pasta sauce are vegetarian. The French, Italian, Fat Free Ranch and Creamy Cucumber dressings are vegetarian (and don't contain eggs). The Creamy Caesar and Thousand Island dressings contain anchovies, eggs and cheese. White Pasta Sauce contains chicken, and the fajita sauce contain chicken or chicken fat. The Taco Beans contains beef. The Honey Mustard, ranch, blue cheese, Romano and buttermilk dressings contain eggs. Not all of their bread dough recipes are vegan. Ask for Thin 'N Crispy, Hand-Tossed Style or Bistro Dough. Do NOT ask for Pan Pizza, personal pan pizza, Sicilian, or garlic bread dough. Top that with the Regular Pizza Sauce or Sweet Pizza Sauce and add veggies. You can order spaghetti (NOT Bistro spaghetti), rotelli and the veggie medley. Make sure they know not to add cheese. The Pasta Bake Primavera can be ordered, asking that they skip the white sauce. Don't get the marinara dipping sauce. Order a salad with French or Italian dressing.

QDOBA
They have a wonderful grilled veggie burrito and an excellent veggie burrito that are vegan, available on white or whole wheat tortillas (as long as you don't add cheese). The same goes for their Grilled Veggie and Veggie taco salads. They will often give you more guac if you say something like, "Since I can't have cheese or sour cream, would you give me a little bit more guacamole, please?" :D The burritos can also be ordered "naked" (served in a bowl w/ an optional tortilla on the side). Their burritos are HUGE - heavy to carry! And m-m-m, so GOOD! In my opinion, their grilled veggie burrito (with additional grilled fajita veggies) is the best vegan burrito around! Oh yeah - they also have some really tasty salsas to top things off with!

RED RAVEN
They don't serve any meat at all, they have three sandwiches that can be vegetarian or vegan if you ask no cheese: Artichoke and Hummus Sandwich, Sloppy Duck, (bbq’ed mock duck sandwich) Fruit & Curry Chickpea Sandwich, they also have quinoa tabouli and edamame! Granola de jour (w/ yogurt and honey) is available as well as their homemade smoothies! If you ask for soymilk instead of yogurt, it is vegan and made with actual fruit that was fruit when it went into the blender, not "real fruit" that is some mystery liquid in a box!

RHOMBUS GUYS PIZZA
Only the thin crusts are vegan. Hand tossed and gluten free crusts have eggs. Ask for vegan marinara - regular marinara has Parmesan cheese in it. They can do olive oil instead too. Daiya vegan cheese available instead of dairy cheese. Side salad without cheese and croutons is good and vegan. They seem very vegan-positive, but please specify what vegan means and educate them, they need it.

SNAP DRAGON
We have grown to love this place. We order off the menu, getting the "Create Your Own Stir-fry" with generous quantities of fried tofu, veggies, and sauce of your choice. The owner, Dave, is very friendly and accommodating, and will veganize the Garlic and Thai Basil sauces. :)

SUBWAY
The Italian dressing is vegetarian, though some restaurants vary on their dressings. The fat-free Sweet Onion Sauce and the olive oil and vinegar are the only dressings that are vegan. Vegetarian breads are Italian Bread, Wheat Bread (contains honey), Hearty Italian Bread and Sesame Italian Bread. The Parmesan/Oregano and Deli Style Roll (contain eggs) contain enzymes from an unknown source. The bread products contain vegetable-derived mono- and diglycerides and L-cysteine. HPR Vegan Food Review, July 2008: They offer a great Veggie Delite Sub, but request the Italian Bread, the Hearty Italian Bread or the Sourdough Bread.

T.G.I. FRIDAYS
Have good baked potatoes. Vegan dishes are the House Salad and Fresh Vegetable Medley (normally served with a non-vegetarian rice, but a plain baked potato can be substituted instead). Some vegetarian dishes are Veggie Wrapper, Fettuccine Alfredo, Cheddar Cheese Nachos, Broken Noodles, Spinach & Feta Pizzadilla and Friday's Gardenburger. The cheese contains rennet from an unknown source. All the soups contain some meat products. The brown rice pilaf has chicken stock. The Friday's Mushrooms are cooked in the same oil as meat and fish dishes. Fried beans contain bacon grease.

TACO BELL
They don't use lard. You should make sure to ask that nothing you order contains meat, as many of the dishes can be served with or without meat.
Vegan dishes are Bean Burrito (without cheese), Bean Tostada (without cheese), nachos without cheese, Mexican Rice (without cheese), Seven Layer Burrito (no sour cream or no cheese) and the Guacamole. Vegan sauces are mild, red, hot, fire, Soft Tortillas, Pizza Sauce and Green Sauce. Corn tortillas (hard tacos), burritos tortillas and wheat tortilla (soft tacos) are vegan.
According to the link above, all the tortillas are vegan. The refried and pinto bean are vegan. Their red taco shells contain CARMINE, gross. (made from bugs!)
Vegetarian dishes are Bean Tostada (without cheese), Pintos n' Cheese, Mexican Pizza without meat, taco salad without meat, Breakfast Quesadilla, Country Breakfast without the sausage, Chalupa shell, Veggie Fajita Wrap, tortilla chips, Gordita flatbread, Seven-Layer Burrito with no sour cream and tostada shells. The Gordita and Chalupa shells contain milk products.
They say that their cheeses are Kosher and that because of the cost of using rennet derived from animal sources that they use genetically engineered coagulants. The sour cream contains gelatin derived from an animal source.
According to information that they sent me their Mexican Rice does not contain chicken broth and their guacamole does not contain sour cream. Both these products are vegan.
Their guacamole, seasoned rice, Express rice and chips are vegan. The following sauces are vegan: fiesta salsa, green tomatillo sauce, hot, mild and red. Cinnamon twists are also vegan. You can order the bean and rice burrito or the 7 layer burrito but make sure you hold the cheese and sour cream. Their potatoes are vegan-make sure they hold the cheese.

TACO BROS
They are willing to make quite a few items on their menu vegan or vegetarian. They don't use lard in their beans.

TACO JOHN'S
Vegans, steer clear of the refried beans! Black beans are ok.
Lard is not used in cooking. They say that their refried beans, guacamole and Mexican Rice do not contain meat products. Unfortunately, they use milk in their refried beans, so they are NOT vegan.
Vegan option: Order a vegetarian burrito bowl with black beans, and make sure that there is no cheese/sour cream if you are vegan.
Animal rennet is not used in the cheeses. You can ask to have the cheese removed from some of the sandwiches, or have meat replaced with beans.
Corn tortillas and guacamole are vegan. Vegetarian sauces are chunky salsa, mild, hot and Pico de Gallo. The enchilada is vegetarian.
Deep-fried items such as the Potato Olés, nachos, fajita shells and tacos are cooked in the same oil where meat is cooked. The sour cream may contain gelatin in some places, so it best to ask the manager if this is true.
The rice contains seasoning that contains chicken flavoring (directly from the seasoning packet, ..chicken flavor [maltodextrin, salt, yeast extract, onion powder, natural flavor, dried yeast and soy sauce (wheat, soybeans, salt)].

HPR Vegan Food Review, July 2008: I called the company myself, as I couldn't locate any information about their ingredients. I was disappointed to find out that they add a buttermilk product to their dried bean mix that they make into refried beans. That makes it difficult to enjoy much of anything there. Their corn taco shells are vegan, but the company representative couldn't locate the source of the L-cysteine that is used in the flour tortillas used for their soft tacos and burritos. The guacamole, Potato Oles and the rice was reported as vegan.
THAI ORCHID
Most of their menu items can be prepared vegan, Be sure to specify that you are vegan or vegetarian, and remind them what that means. Say something like, "Please make that vegan, meaning no milk, fish sauce, or any animal products whatsoever, etc. For no fish/oyster sauce, ask for the gluten free sauce.

TUTTI FRUTTI
Has one flavor of VEGAN soft serve yogurt and one flavor of vegan sorbet every day, a different flavor at each of the 3 locations everyday! Non GMO soy, too! They also have many vegan-friendly toppings in their toppings bar, including fresh fruit, flax seed, tapioca pearls, etc. Flavor information posted every morning on Tutti Frutti's Facebook page

WENDY'S
The baked potatoes and some of the salads (side salad & deluxe garden salad) are suitable for vegetarians. The baked potatoes are fairly good and are cheap. Taco chips, applesauce and French fries are vegan. The French, Italian and Reduced Cal Italian dressings are vegetarian. Fat-free French dressing contains honey. None of the cheeses contain rennet derived from animal products. Sandwich and kaiser buns contain whey. The pita bread contains L-cysteine (an amino acid) and enzymes from an unknown source. The Frosty contains mono- and diglycerides from an unknown source, but doesn't contain eggs. The Caesar vinaigrette and Italian Caesar dressings contain anchovies. The French fries are normally cooked in their own oil, but if demand is high for them they may be cooked in the same oil that chicken or fish is also cooked in. The potato salad and pasta salad contain eggs. The sour cream seems to be vegetarian (according to their web page) but has many chemicals so it is hard to tell. It may contain gelatin. The bleu cheese, Garden Ranch and reduced fat Hidden Valley Ranch dressings contain eggs. All the sauces normally put on the pita sandwiches are non-vegetarian. The Honey Mustard Nugget Sauce contains eggs. HPR Vegan Food Review, July 2008: You can order a side salad with Oriental Sesame or Italian Vinaigrette and a side of mandarin oranges or a baked potato and ask for broccoli without the cheese sauce. Their French fries are animal product free, but are sometimes fried in vegetable oil along with meat products.


YUKI HANA SUSHI BAR AND KOREAN BBQ
FM Veg recommendation: teriyaki tofu meal and veggie roll

Table of Contents

Page title Most recent update Last edited by
Community Resources - Recipes October 26, 2017 4:07 PM former member
Community Resources - Local Restaurants May 21, 2015 11:43 AM Kathleen K.
Community Resources - Grocery Shopping June 17, 2010 7:47 PM Kathleen K.
2006 - our first year June 18, 2010 4:17 PM Karl K.
About FMVeg - Fargo Moorhead Vegans & Friends July 4, 2013 10:29 AM Kathleen K.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy