Past Meetup

Sera Cahoone @ DC9

This Meetup is past

2 people went

Details

Hey folks. I had some work stuff come up and unfortunately will no longer be able to attend the show. If you guys would like to meet-up with each other please feel free to exchange numbers.

New album is amazing if you have not heard it yet. Fantastic voice. Here is a little write up from AMG:

In the vein of such inviting indie folk crooners as Iron & Wine (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/iron-wine-mn0000085038), Laura Veirs (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/laura-veirs-mn0000138844), and the seemingly hundreds of folks attempting to be the next Elliott Smith (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/elliott-smith-mn0000172167) without the unpleasant end, Sera Cahoone (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/sera-cahoone-mn0000107921)'s self-described goal in her official press kit is to be seen as "a musical love child of Buck Owens (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/buck-owens-mn0000941579) and Cat Power (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/cat-power-mn0000803009)." Raised in the suburbs of Denver, Colorado,Cahoone (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/cahoone-mn0000107921) began playing drums at the age of 11 and spent her teenage years in a succession of local bands, often in the company of Roger Green (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/roger-green-mn0001450612) (later of the Czars (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/the-czars-mn0000784410)) and future fellow indie folk singer/songwriter Patrick Park (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/patrick-park-mn0000745745). Landing in the Pacific Northwest upon leaving school, Cahoone (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/cahoone-mn0000107921) joined the artsy indie rock outfit Carissa's Wierd (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/carissas-wierd-mn0000172604), despite their egregiously misspelled name. The group developed a cult following over the course of several increasingly baroque and accomplished records, but split up in 2003 when leader Jenn Ghetto (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/jenn-ghetto-mn0001750712) left to concentrate on her solo project S (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/s-mn0000812685). While occasionally playing drums with another Carissa's Wierd (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/carissas-wierd-mn0000172604) offshoot, Band of Horses (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/band-of-horses-mn0000896216), Cahoone (http://www.allmusic.com/artist/cahoone-mn0000107921) wrote and recorded her self-titled solo debut in 2005. Originally self-released but eventually distributed by Sub Pop Records, Sera Cahoone (http://www.allmusic.com/album/sera-cahoone-mw0001116284) garnered quite a bit of critical acclaim and paved the way for 2008's follow-up record, Only as the Day Is Long (http://www.allmusic.com/album/only-as-the-day-is-long-mw0000495920), released on Sub Pop. The album led to positive reviews and her second Sub Pop collection, Deer Creek Canyon (http://www.allmusic.com/album/deer-creek-canyon-mw0002409687).

Attendees (2)

Go to Attendee List