Past Meetup

Startups Disrupting the Legal Industry

This Meetup is past

77 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

PLEASE REGISTER ON EVENTBRITE:
https://www.eventbrite.com/event/7784775473

YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED ENTRANCE IF YOU DO NOT REGISTER ON EVENTBRITE VIA THE ABOVE LINK!

While the digital age has brought greater efficiency to almost every industry, the staid legal sector seems stubbornly stuck in the past. A group of innovators is changing things by using technology to make legal services more affordable and user-friendly. Their approaches include creating online services where users can quickly find legal help and using software to automate routine legal work.

This event will feature short demos from consumer-facing legal technology companies followed by a panel discussion on the challenges and opportunities associated with disrupting the legal industry. We'll discuss why the legal industry failed to innovate, where the biggest opportunities to disrupt are, if lawyers should be afraid, and much more.

Panelists include:

Jonathan Askin (https://www.brooklaw.edu/en/faculty/directory/facultymember/biography.aspx?id=jonathan.askin), Founder of the Brooklyn Law Incubator & Policy Clinic

Jennifer Berrent (http://www.wilmerhale.com/jennifer_berrent/), Partner at WilmerHale

Abe Geiger (http://www.linkedin.com/in/abegeiger), Founder of Shake (http://www.shakelaw.com/)

Nikhil Nirmel (http://www.linkedin.com/in/nikhilnirmel), Founder of Lawdingo (https://www.lawdingo.com/)

Erik Dykema (http://www.linkedin.com/in/erikdykema), Co-Founder & CEO of Caserails (http://www.caserails.com/)

Basha Rubin (http://www.linkedin.com/pub/basha-rubin/30/367/a0b/), Founder & CEO of Priori Legal (http://priorilegal.com)

Thank you to our event sponsor, General Assembly (https://generalassemb.ly/)!