addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

The Resilience Hub & Portland Maine Permaculture Message Board › To till or not to till?

To till or not to till?

A former member
Post #: 1
Hello All,

My name is Jen White and I am brand new to many forms of gardening. My partner and I just bought a 1/2 acre of land and would love to start a garden this year. The question we have been debating is whether to till the land or grow in raised beds. I am very new and can use all of the advice I can get on how to start our first garden. Thank you all and I am looking forward to attending a Permaculture meeting!

Jen
zengeos
zengeos
Gorham, ME
Post #: 164
Hi Jen, I am trying a variety of methods this Spring.

I have a sheet mulched bed that I will plant into in a few weeks...4x20 feet or so. I also have an existing 25x50 tilled garden whch I am working into a wide bed model...4' wide about, running the entire length, with 18"-2' paths. This fall I plan to simply sheet mulch over the raised beds and NOT til the garden next year.

I also created a raspberry bed this last week, which I lightly tilled to remove most of the grass clods and then built up the soil into mounding raised beds.